As broadcast last night, as it is every Thursday from 10pm to midnight TXFM.

This week’s album of the week is All We Are’s self-titled album and there are debut plays from Courtney Barnett, Chromatics, Villagers,  Young Fathers, Aesop Rock and others. The first hour delved into dark electronics while the second was a bit indie, a bit rap and a bit gorgeous.

You can listen live on Thursdays to the show on 105.2FM, online, the iOs app, Android app or if you missed it, along with all the other shows, via the listen back section

Part One

Part Two 


  1. JUCE! –  ‘The Other One’
  2. D’Angelo – ‘Back To The Future Part II’
  3. The Preatures – ‘Is This How You Feel?’ (Classixx Remix)
  4. Todd Terje –  ‘Preben Goes to Acapulco’ (Prins Thomas Remix)
  5. Wax Stag –  ‘Sparkling River’
  6. Kraftwerk  – ‘Elektro Kardiogramm’
  7. Glass Candy – ‘Computer Love’
  8. Chromatics –  ‘Yes’ (Love Theme From Lost River)
  9. John Carpenter –  ‘Night’
  10. Kelela – ‘The High’
  11. Shlohmo  – ‘Buried’
  12. Courtney Barnett  – ‘Pedestrian at Best’
  13. Will Butler –  ‘Anna’
  14. No Monster Club –  ‘I’ve Retired’
  15. All We Are – ‘I Wear You’
  16. Young Fathers –  ‘Rain Or Shine’
  17. MuRli  – ‘Both Sides’ (feat. God Knows) [Prod. by mynameisjOhn]
  18. Aesop Rock –  ‘Bug Zapper’
  19. Wet  – ‘Dreams’
  20. Made In Heights –  ‘Panther’
  21. Oh Wonder – ‘Lose It’
  22. Villagers – ‘Courage’
  23. Jack Garratt – ‘The Love You’re Given’
  24. Tobias Jesso Jr. – ‘How Could You Babe?’

Posted on February 6th, 2015


Artists: , ,


The man of the moment: Josh Tillman aka Father John Misty just released  I Love You, Honeybear , his lovestruck persona-driven album with many lyrical highlights. He’s already playing Whelan’s on February 20th but that sold out very quickly, so he’s just been announced to play Vicar Street on Saturday October 24th. Tickets €25+ on sale from Ticketmaster.

Already announced this week?

Portico, who were called the Portico Quartet but are no longer four people so that obviously can’t apply (thanks Nick Mulvey, you ruined everything) are back with new music having signed to Ninja Tune. Their new single features Joe Newman of Alt-J and is very impressive. They play Whelan’s on April 20th. Tickets €15+ on sale now from Ticketmastwe and Ticket ABC.


A Cork man, a Brazilian dude and a Norwegian girl meet at a performing arts college in Liverpool and form a band. Richard O’Flynn, Luis Santos and Guro Gikling’s debut album as All We Are is a product of three varying backgrounds that converges on music that’s effortlessly slinky harmony-filled guitar pop.

On stage, in Dingle, at Other Voices in December, the band played with a tight funk rhythm and guitar grooves that were easy to admire.

It’s the same outcome on the band’s self-titled debut album, released on Domino last week.

The band have been compared to the xx already but where Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sims traded off their coy flirtatiousness chemistry, the charm of All We Are’s music comes more in the gravitation of their ability to create whispery crescendos and breezy rhythms. The band write all the music and lyrics together so there’s more of a sensual solidarity in their hips and the bones of the tunes. Maybe that’s why the band have called their sound “psychedelic boogie” and have been referenced to the Bee Gees.

Production from Dan Carey (who has given records from Bat For Lashes, Hot Chip and Chairlift) helps add a warm melty spit and polish to the album. That shine means that the album is always pleasant and it lull you in to their frequencies even when there’s a few indistinct songs embedded on it. When they really make their move, through the slow funk “ohs” on ‘I Wear You’, the swaying ‘Feel Safe’ and the spiralling guitar R&B build of ‘Go’, they show their best front.

All We Are play The Workman’s Club on March 14th. Email [email protected] before Monday to enter the draw win passes to the show.

Listen on Spotify


Having announced their new album Heirs last week, billed as their “most personal and meaningful,” the band have premiered ‘Run Home’, a frantically-charged rollercoaster of emotive guitar and voices pushing against drums and low end resulting in an cascade of encouraging sound.

The album will be out in May and as well as the EU tour announced last week, the band have also announced they are two play two big Irish shows:

Friday June 19th @ Olympia Theatre, Dublin (€22+)
Saturday June 20th @ Mandela Hall, Belfast (Tickets £14 + Booking Fee, 18+)


After last week’s first announcement for the Forbidden Fruit lineup which included Wu Tang Clan, Fatboy Slim, Run The Jewels, Booka Shade, Joey Bada$$ and more…

Today, the festival have added:

Richie Hawtin
Jamie xx
Groove Armada (DJ set)
Waze & Odyssey
Damian Lazarus & The Ancient Moons,
Mount Kimbie (DJ set)
Booka Brass Band

Sweet. Particularly excited about Mount Kimbie, Kelela’s Irish debut and Jamie xx is always a good bet. Ticket info.


David Blaney is Cat Palace, a new Dublin music project which will get a debut EP release on Saturday night in the Bello Bar.

On evidence of these two tracks, there is something interesting going on. ‘Cage’, is an unassuming song that snakes its way under your skin with some simple band instrumentation and lyrics delivered in a rich baritone about the desolation at the end of a relationship. The stark arrangement suits the sentiment.


Julio Bashmore has been on a roll with his last two singles ‘Simple Love’ and ‘Rhythm Of Auld’ being two killer dancefloor tracks that’ll sound great when he plays the Academy later this month.

His new track ‘Kong’ featuring the vocals of Bixby is another house-music instruction to your feet, and another sign that his 2015 debut is going to slay.


The Kraftwerk documentary Pop Art screened on BBC4 in the last few days and while it’s not the definitive story of the band itself (it doesn’t really cover a lot of things about cycling, personnel changes or technology to name a few things), it does look at the influence of the German electronic masters on music and the modern world with contributions from Derrick May, Paul Morley, Can founder Holger Czukay, Kraftwerk remixer Francois K and also includes footage from the band’s 3D shows in the Tate Modern in 2013.

Fun fact: Kraftwerk were the first band I wrote about here back in 2005!

Posted on February 3rd, 2015



The Scottish alt-rap band and one of the best live bands around, Young Fathers just announced their new album on Big Dada is called White Men Are Black Men Too and that it’s out on April 3rd in Ireland.

The album title is somewhat explained below via an internal email exchange between the band and management and how it is concerned with equality.

The first song from the album is called ‘Rain Or Shine’, a low-end rumbling mantric track with the line “I may not be around come rain or shine,” repeated.