Now Reading
New albums out today: The Smile, NewDad, Future Islands, R.A.P. Ferreira, Gruff Rhys & more

New albums out today: The Smile, NewDad, Future Islands, R.A.P. Ferreira, Gruff Rhys & more

new albums photos:

Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

The Smile – Wall Of Eyes

The Smile, the band formed by Radiohead members Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood with drummer Tom Skinner release their second album.

They play 3Arena in March.

Future Islands – People Who Aren’t There Anymore

The Baltimore synth-pop foursome’s seventh studio album.

NewDad – MADRA

London-based Galway indie-rock band’s impressive debut album. Produced by Chris Ryan and mixed by Alan Moulder, the 11-track album on Fair Youth establishes a young band on the up, while singer/guitarist Julie Dawson “embarks on a journey of self-exploration, self-sabotage, and reflection… and searches for solace in pain, tackling themes of bullying, self-medication/depression, destruction, co-dependency and resistance.”

‘Let Go’

Gruff Rhys – Sadness Sets Me Free

The eighth studio album by Welsh musician and Super Furry Animals frontman, was recorded in three days in March 2022 in Paris. Kate Stables from This Is The Kit sings some backing vocals.

R.A.P. Ferreira & Fumitake Tamura – The First Fist to Make Contact When We Dap

Nashville MC R.A.P. Ferreira has collaborated with Japanese producer Fumitake Tamura, with a full-length release the First Fist to Make Contact When We Dap.

The album came about when founder of Low End Theory Daddy Kev invited Ferreira to a trip to Japan, where Kev was putting on his beat night Scenario.

Ferreira and Tamura aka Bun worked together remotely five years ago but this was there first IRL creative meet.

Courting – New Last Name

Liverpool four-piece Courting’s new album features additional guest production from London electronic duo DJ Sabrina The Teenage DJ. ‘We Look Good Together (Big Words)’

TORRES – What an Enormous Room

Sixth studio album by American indie-rock musician Mackenzie Scott on Merge Records.

See Also

Ty Segall – Three Bells

The fifteenth studio album by the American garage rock musician Ty Segall, released on Drag City Records.

Lyrical Lemonade – All Is Yellow

All is Yellow serves as the first compilation studio album from Cole Bennett and Lyrical Lemonade featuring Lil Yachty, Latto, Swae Lee, Joey Bada$$, Gus Dapperton, Ski Mask The Slump God, Kid Cudi, Eminem, Teezo Touchdown and more.

Queen Grace – From The North Country

From The North Country is a collection of traditional-folk songs and original compositions from, or about the province of Ulster in Ireland dating as far back as 1840’s at the beginning of The Great Famine. Queen Grace has composed two original songs for the album Josephine a soft and bittersweet ode to her late granny and Bernadette about the political turmoil that lead to Bloody Sunday massacre in 1972.

New EPs

Eamon Harkin – Noetic EP

Mister Saturday Night/ Mister Sunday New York/Irish party-starter drops a “four-track meditation on the lifelong search for a deep personal connection through spiritual practice,” taking in elements of house, acid, machine workouts, and ambient.

Kim V Porcelli – Forest School EP

Irish Composer, cellist & multi-instrumentalist releases a three-track EP “explore and play with our sense of time, using loops and layers to stretch and shift
perception, while their organic, tactile sound is grounded in the natural world.”

Also released today

  • Alex Zhang Hungtai – Young Gods Run Free
  • Anna Calvi & Nick Launay Peaky Blinders: Season 5 + 6 (Original Score)
  • Benny the Butcher – Everybody Can’t Go
  • Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Dark Rainbow
  • junodream – Pools Of Colour
  • Katy Kirby – Blue Raspberry
  • Tapir! – The Pilgrim, Their God and The King Of My Decrepit Mountain

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!