The Dublin band little xs for eyes are a group who are evenly split between the sexes who draw in influences from folk, indie and synth pop.

The six-piece are back with a new album Everywhere Else on April 13th, the followup to their debut S.A.D. The album is concerned with love and nature and “the mess we make of both.” It’ll feature previous singles ‘Love Gets Lost’ and ‘Summer Stay’.

Their new single is a synth-funk pop stomper with love at is core and it has a starry-eyed sensibility to it. There’s a jittery lovebug feel to the track so you’ll probably fall right in love with it yourself.

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 11.30.08

Energetic pint-sized Vegas singer Shamir has dropped the second single from his upcoming album Ratchet on XL coming in May. ‘Call It Off’ debuts with a great puppet video for the eminently danceable electro-pop single about giving someone the heave-ho.

Posted on March 24th, 2015


Screen Shot 2015-03-23 at 18.35.57

The evolution of FKA Twigs’ style continues with a self-directed video for a new track ‘Glass & Patron’ for a new song featuring voguing in a forest and some strong pregnancy imagery.

The song is from an EP coming later in the year. The video was directed and choreographed by her as part of the 2015 YouTube Music Awards.

Posted on March 23rd, 2015



Good things happen to good people sometimes. Nile Rodgers is one of them. Today, the musician and his band Chic have revealed their first new song in 22 years. ‘I’ll Be There’ is built on an old unreleased song that Rodgers, after beating cancer, resolved to make into something new from old analogue recordings, with additional percussion by The Martinez Brothers.

The video similarly takes archive and current footage and ties it up with Karlie Kloss in her pants.

The song is on Spotify.

Chic are playing Dublin and Cork this summah.

Posted on March 20th, 2015



As broadcast last night, as it is every Thursday from 10pm to midnight TXFM.

Part One

  1. Grimes – ‘REALiTi’
  2. Kendrick Lamar – ‘King Kunta’
  3. Rusangano Family – ‘Wasteman’
  4. Snakehips – ‘Forever, Pt. II’ (feat. Kaleem Taylor)
  5. George Maple – ‘Where You End and I Begin’ (feat. Grande Marshall)
  6. Florence And The Machine – ‘You Got The Love’ (The XX Remix)
  7. The Go! Team – ‘The Scene Between’
  8. Haelos – ‘Earth Not Above’
  9. Leo Drezden – ‘Hunting Drums’
  10. The Redneck Manifesto – ‘The Dillon Family Dancers’
  11. Villagers – ‘Hot Scary Summer’
  12. The Postal Service – ‘Such Great Heights’

Part Two 

  1. Kendrick Lamar – ‘These Walls’ (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Thundercat)
  2. Monto – ‘ Worlds Apart’
  3. Tobias Jesso Jr. – ‘How Could You Babe’
  4. Jape – ‘Ribbon Ribbon Ribbon’ (David Wrench mix)
  5. Hudson Mohawke – ‘Forever 1′ (Cashmere Cat Edit)
  6. Fort Romeau – ‘Not A Word’ (with New Jackson)
  7. Dave DK – ‘Halma’
  8. Nosaj Thing – ‘Cold Stares’ (feat. Chance The Rapper & Maceo Haymes)
  9. D’Angelo – ‘Till It’s Done Tutu’
  10. Mr Twin Sister – ‘Rude Boy’
  11. Evvol – ‘No Love’
  12. Yumi Zouma – ‘The Brae’
  13. Ghostpoet – ‘X Marks The Spot’
  14. Florence + The Machine – ‘What Kind of Man’ (Nicolas Jaar Remix)
  • You can listen live on Thursdays to the show on 105.2FM, online, the iOs app, Android app or if you missed it, along with all the other shows, via the listen back section
  • Posted on March 20th, 2015


    Artists: , , , ,

    Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 17.47.14

    From Spies‘ new EP, from which they have debuted ‘Sea Creatures’, comes a new video for the EP track ‘Quincy Morris’ (either a reference to a character in Dracula or Castlevania, or neither).

    The clip directed by Oliver Nolan, starring Claire O’Reilly singing the lyrics around the city, while encountering a random selection of people up to no good including a mariachi band and two dancing tin-foil robots.

    The Sea Creature EP was recorded by Rian Trench in The Meadow Studios and is out on 12″/digital on March 30th.

    Sea Creature EP Track Listing:

    1. Sea Creature
    2. The Holidays of Jed Bartlett
    3. Quincy Morris
    4. Always
    5. November Sky

    Posted on March 19th, 2015


    Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 17.20.43

    All City Records have a new record out by LA producer Druguse. The title track, ‘Hood Rich Life’ is inspired by juke and footwork. Check out the brilliant video by Donovan Delaney and OneMileStudio featuring figurine-style LA gangsta scenes.

    Posted on March 19th, 2015


    Artists: ,


    My fellow Irish music blogger and Newbridge man Barry Gruff has put together GruffWuff, a 19-track compilation of new and unreleased music to celebrate his 5 years writing about music on his blog.

    GruffWuff features music from Anderson, SertOne, Oh Boland, Monto, The Expert, Captain Moonlight, Knoxville Morning and more. It’s a good overview of the kind of music Barry likes. He has a predilection for ’90s-sounding indie and alternative music with an emphasis on Welsh music so that explains the addition of Mr Huw. Here’s to another 5 years!

    “Initially I thought an idea like this was just a pipe dream but the enthusiasm that met my initial inquiries bowled me over, I couldn’t believe how eager everyone was to get involved. Blogging has become quite a big part of my life over the past number of years and I wanted to do something really special to mark the occasion, and I think with ‘GruffWuff’, that has been achieved”. Adding “It’s been curated and compiled by myself and Stephen Connelly. The thinking behind the project was pretty simple; we wanted to shine a light, brief as it may be, on some of the acts that have lit up the blog over the past few years.”

    GruffWuff is out now on Bandcamp for name your price fee.