Leo Drezden’s debut album Multi-Moment is a colourful ride through post-rock, electronic, jazz and prog. Steve McKinney, Chris Con, Dan Le Bolloc’h and Rian Trench’s multifarious genre leanings together produce a varied album of music. Primarily, its thrust is of a post-rock vein, with instrumental twists and turns dominating over traditional song structures.

The work of Trench, as one half of Solar Bears and a superior producer is indelibly felt through, so much so that some of it sounds like a jazz-educated post-rock band performing Solar Bears covers. That does show how much of an imprint Trench makes on Solar Bears’ music.

The album is well-titled, as its overall impression leaves passages of memorable music. ‘Slave Lake’ is a celestial interstitial that leaves a mark, ‘Black Palace’ takes flight into a analog prog-noodle pleasantry and elsewhere the octane rock breakdown of ‘Quest’, the percussive outro of ‘Green Fire Magic’ and the psychedelic closer ‘We Found Her Lying There’ stay with a listener.

Generally, the post-rock tendencies are ever-present, though an unfurling of notes and interplay help lift the song which are often whizzing by without a need to stop, save for a resolved end chord. Such pauses are shortlived.

And like their local brethren Alarmist, the band are excellent players, and such skills matter when so much detail is crammed into each track.

Planet Parade – ‘Cardiac’

Planet Parade were up there with one of my favourite Irish bands last year. They reappeared with new music after four years away and through a series of singles, they established an entirely new sound to the one of old.

That new electronically-charged billowing synth indie sound they’ve developed is heard once again on the new song ‘Cardiac’, with a video that features three masked dancers.

Posted on March 10th, 2015



Caribou are releasing a remix package this week of Our Love tracks. The album has given us some great remixes by Carl Craig and Tale Of Us/Mano Le Tough, and the new ones of ‘Second Chance’ and ‘Mars’ by Head High are worthy additions to that strand of remixes.

Caribou – ‘Second Chance’ (Cyril Hahn Edit)


There’s much nodding enjoyment to be had from Dublin band Tandem Felix’s new song ‘Nothing I Do Will Ever Be Good Enough’ which melds country pedal-steel guitar (played by veteran steel-guitarist Bobby Lee, according to the band), a lilting indie-rock atmosphere and synth keys.

The song is taken from the four-piece’s new EP – Comma, due on April 27th on Trout Records. It’s a new sound for the band who say a lineup change is part of the reason.

Lines EP frontcover

Stefano Schiavocampo and Massimiliano Galli are two Italian lads who are based in Dublin who, like Buffalo Woman, are part of the creative types that work in The Fumbally Café.

Their band SignA, decribed as a “minimal-folk” project has previously released an EP, a debut album, toured European cities and played some shows at Electric Picnic and Body & Soul. Live, they are joined by Brian O’Shea (Synth, Laptop, Keyboards) and Rossa Cassidy (Percussion).

In April, the band will release the band’s new EP recorded at Block-T’s studio residency in Ireland called Lines. There will be a 12″ physical release financed by The Fumbally too.

‘Spoonful Of Honey’ is a track from six-track release and it melds electronic textures with guitar folk pickings to produce a track that recalls José Gonzales and The Books.


Edward F Butler impressed me with his previous single ‘Running From Fears’, and here we are again with ‘Bank Heist Debut’, a soulful electronic track which is anchored by Butler’s dry husky voice.


This week, songs that impressed came from Cork’s The Hard Ground, LA R&B singer Kelela in stark mode on ‘A Message’, Toro Y Moi doing what he does best, Chris Clark giving us a pummeling with ‘Silver Sun’ from his new Flame Rave EP and there was “psych afro-rock at 138 BPM” from Melbourne’s Broadway Sounds.

SertOne teamed up with another Aussie Maribelle on ‘Lost & Found’, the Chromatics gave us another free download single called I Can Never Be Myself When You’re Around from their new album Dear Tommy. From the North of Ireland, Ciaran Lavery & Ryan Vail teamed up for ‘The Colour Blue’, the first track from a mini-album.

Loud Mouth Collective gave us a song from Volume 7 of their series, Kool Thing returned with a new sound and name – Evvol. Mullingar indie-pop band The Academic released their first track in a while called ‘Different’. The brilliant Oh Wonder came back with their seventh track ‘Technicolour Beat’ and news of their first live show in London and Action Bronson’s collab with Chance The Rapper showed us that his major label debut Mr Wonderful could be just that.

Finally, there’s room for a reissue from a release that kicked off the Awesome Tapes From Africa blog. A bonkers global dance album from Ghanaian singer/producer Ata Kak discovered on cassette gets a release on vinyl, CD, tape and digitally.

More new music? Follow the Nialler9 New Music playlist on Spotify. Updated weekly.

Posted on March 6th, 2015

Artists: , , ,


In January, Come On Live Long gave us the new track ‘Trough’, a sweeping atmospheric teaser from their forthcoming second album.

Simon Keenan has directed a rather beautiful slow motion clip for the song set in the isolated wintery Irish mountains. Niamh Algar features.

Posted on March 6th, 2015

Artists: ,


As broadcast last night, as it is every Thursday from 10pm to midnight TXFM.