Pic. John Allen

Cork-band The Hard Ground have released some quality music over three EPs in the last year under their Triptych project. The last of the three EPs is released, alongside a compendium album of all EPs on Friday April 10th.

‘Pucker’ is a song from the final EP, is a beaut; with Marlene Enright’s vocal dominating a track that uses low tempo drums, bass, synthesizers and guitars to supportive and lilting effect. The song is released next Friday March 13th.


Having just been announced to play Electric Picnic in September, the young Liverpool singer Låpsley has released a video for a standout track from her recent XL Recordings EP Understudy.

The video has Holly Lapsley Fletcher on a car journey / reminiscing about a night out directed by Cherise Payne & Låpsley but it’s really an opportunity to shine a light on a great track.

Previously: Låpsley is a singer on the way up – here’s live proof

‘Falling Short’

Posted on March 4th, 2015


unnamed (2)

Chris Clark’s prolific output stays that way with a new four-track EP called Flame Rave out on March 20th on Warp, following on from his self-titled eighth album released in November.

Some of the tracks are alternative versions of the LP tracks, ‘Springtime Linn’ is one of 40 versions of ‘Winter Linn’, ‘Unfurla Cremated’ is the result of a jam around that LP’s ‘Unfurla’ and the EP’s lead track ‘Silver Sun’ also exists in a beatless format, yet to be released.

“I started making these ravey tunes to play out at gigs, but they gathered a momentum and gradually formed this E.P. I came back to it again and again – it seemed to work in clubs but also as a sneaky, immersive headphone listen. I love the feel of an almost overwhelming percussive violence being suddenly flooded with heartache and melody. I find that dynamic exhilarating.”

The tracks are definitely heavy dancefloor weapons.’To Live And Die in Grantham’ sounds like a particularly scuzzy version of ‘One Night In Hackney’ at a less relentless pace.

‘Silver Sun’ builds on a synth arpeggio into a breakbeat that pushes into drum and bass and jungle territory.


If ‘Empty Nesters’ was a alt-rock curveball, ‘Buffalo’ resets the mood from a Pavement-style track to a psychedelic song, the kind of thing that Chaz Bundick’s Toro Y Moi project is known for.

It’s a smooth groove, that takes from a 70s rhythm and builds on it with a synth-indie pop sensibility of our time.

“When I started writing this song I was experiencing a bit of writer’s block and this song was what pulled me out. As soon as I wrote it, I knew it would set the tone for the entire album.”

unnamed (1)

Mullingar’s The Academic were one of the best live bands I saw last year on my four week stint around Ireland for Guinness Amplify.

The four lads consisting of Craig Fitzgerald, Dean Gavin, Stephen Murtagh and Matt Murtagh also left a big impression with their debut single ‘Bear Claws’ and they’ll hope to keep it up with their debut four-track EP released on April 24th.

‘Different’, the first track from it is a tightly-played three-minute indie-rock pop track, effortlessly sauntering around your ears in a melodic and pleasing fashion.

FGL04artwork (1)

Liverpool-based producer and Fly High Society’s SertOne is back with ‘Lost & Found’, a new single released on Feel Good Lost today featuring the vocal talent of Australian singer Maribelle. The track features a suspended footwork rhythm that we’ve heard Sert work before but Maribelle’s voice brings an R&B pop edge to the track.


Sometimes it’s best to wipe a clean slate and start anew. Kool Thing, the Berlin-based trio of Julie Chance, Jon Dark and Valentin Plessy have been trying out different styles beyond the electronic indie of their debut.

What they uncovered was a new sound, one that didn’t fit into Kool Thing so a name change occured. Evvol, they call themselves. ‘Your Love’ reflecting the mirror of the new name continues the band’s characteristic for duality in both vocals and the way in which a tense rhythm dances with a rolling bassline and glassy percussion and an outlook that is closer to their adopted city’s identity for dance music.


Melbourne trio Broadway Sounds‘ new song ‘Sing It Again’ is described by the band as “Psych Afro Rock at 138 BPMs,” and that’s about as distilled as it can get for this summery afro-beat funk-pop jam, which will have the likely effect of making you want to break out in a conga line or do the cha-cha-cha. Fast funky music will do that to you.


My favourite songs of the month. Get the majority of them as a continuous playlist on Spotify | Soundcloud

The songs

  1. Hot Chip -‘Huarache Lights’
  2. All Tvvins – ‘Thank You’
  3. Father John Misty – ‘The Night Josh Tillman Came to Our Apartment’
  4. Portico – ‘101’ feat. Joe Newman of Alt-J
  5. Fort Romeau & New Jackson – ‘Not A Word’
  6. Julio Bashmore – ‘Kong’ feat Bixby
  7. Florence + The Machine – ‘What Kind Of Man’
  8. Oh Wonder – ‘Lose It’
  9. Alabama Shakes – ‘Don’t Wanna Fight’
  10. Villagers – ‘Courage’
  11. Action Bronson – ‘Terry’
  12. Kendrick Lamar – ‘The Blacker The Berry’
  13. Lindstrøm & Grace Hall – ‘Home Tonight’
  14. Meltybrains? – ‘Donegal’
  15. Wax Stag – ‘Sparkling River’
  16. Roisin Murphy – ‘Gone Fishing’
  17. Sufjan Stevens – ‘No Shade In The  Shadow Of The Cross’
  18. Murlo – ‘Deep Breath’ feat. Gemma Dunleavy
  19. Bob Moses – ‘First To Cry’
  20. Young Wonder – ‘Intergalactic’
  21. Chromatics – ‘Yes’
  22. Goodtime – ‘Did You Even Notice?’
  23. Blooms – ‘Fall’
  24. Young Fathers – ‘Rain Or Shine’
  25. Coldplay – ‘Fix You’ (Four Tet remix)
  26. Florence + The Machine – ‘What Kind Of Man’ (Nicolas Jaar remix)
  27. Diet Cig – ‘Scene Sick’
  28. Cinema – ‘Retrograde’
  29. Hare Squead – ‘Bop With It’
  30. Ibeyi – ‘Weatherman’