This is only a selection of new music – dig into more or follow the Spotify playlists.

Nialler9 Weekly playlist


Baba Stiltz – Can’t Help It

Axel Boman’s Studio Barnhaus label rising star Baba Stiltz draws together intimate sentiments and melodic dancefloor electronics.


Rocstrong – ‘Vibes’

The latest single in his run of monthly tracks. After ‘ I Gotcha’, Rocstrong expands his template with the dynamic dance-pop tinged ‘Vibes’.


ASA Moto – ‘Athina’

A highlight from the latest release on Soulwax’s DeeWee label (have you heard their new Essential mix?)


Murlo feat. Gemma Dunleavy – ‘I Need’

Dublin singer Gemma Dunleavy continues her collaboration with UK producer Murlo on two songs on his Club Coil EP. She’s a nice foil for his clubby electronic productions.


Future – ‘Mask Off’ feat. Kendrick Lamar

Lamar adds his first post-DAMN. verse on Future’s floating flute loop single.


The Fontaines – ‘Liberty Belle’

Dublin band The Fontaines‘s ‘Liberty Belle’ is a retro rock’n’roll jam fitted with a Dublin accent. It’s short, sharp and stands out.


Daphni – ‘Face To Face’

Whatever the snobs at Boomkat think, ‘Face To Face’ is a serious banger.

3 New Music flavours:

All song added in the past week: Nialler9 Weekly.

The larger three-month New Music Playlist.

New Irish Music Playlist

Check out the regularly updated Spotify playlists.

Posted on May 25th, 2017

Artists: , , , , ,

These songs represent my favourite 10 tracks of the last week but there’s plenty more besides. The new music playlist is available on Spotify and Apple Music and is updated weekly.

New music chart

  1. Erykah Badu – ‘Hotline Bling But You Cain’t Use My Phone mix’
  2. Glass Animals & Joey Bada$$ – ‘Lose Control’
  3. The Drink – ‘No Memory’
  4. Murlo – ‘Moodswung’
  5. Arca – ‘Soichira’
  6. Owensie – ‘Dramamine’
  7. Run The Jewels – ‘Rubbe Kings Theme’
  8. Raury – ‘Forbidden Knowledge’ ft. Big K.R.I.T.
  9. Ficci – ‘Lost’
  10. Iglooghost – ‘Gold Coat’ feat. Cuushe

Extended new music playlist:

Like your new music on Spotify instead? Follow the Nialler9 New Music playlist. Updated weekly.

Spotify playlist


Posted on October 12th, 2015

Artists: , , ,

Castlepalooza takes place in Charleville Castle in Tullamore, Offaly for its 10th year this year on August Bank Holiday: 31st July, 1st & 2nd August 2015.

The lineup for the festival which takes place on the grounds of the castle features international guests like Hercules & Love Affair, Late Nite Tuff Guy, Aeroplane, Alex Metric, Fryars, Paul White, Murlo, Alexander Nut, Of Montreal but it really relies on Irish artists and DJs including Fight Like Apes, Hare Squead Jape, Vann Music, Buffalo Woman and Not Squares.

The full lineup is:

Adeyhawke, Aeroplane, Alex Metric, Alexander Nut, April Towers, Arman Giorgio, Baz Hickey, Benihana, Benny Smiles, Buffalo Woman, Cave Ghosts, Colour // Sound, Columbia Mills, Dear Desert, Disco Punks, DVO Marvel, Electro Sensitive Behaviour featuring Perry Blake, Elephant, Fight Like Apes, Florence Olivier, Frankenstein Bolts, Fryars, Handsome Paddy, Hare Squead, Hauer, Hercules And Love Affair, Heroes in Hiding, I Have A Tribe, Imploded View, Jape, JB The Dee Jay, Jenny Greene, Jon Phonics, Joshua Burnside, King Kong Company, Kobina, Late Nite Tuff Guy, Mo Colours, Mr Whippy, Murlo, Nialler9 (I’ll be DJing one of the nights), Not Squares, of Montreal, Overheard,Participant, Paul White, Plutonic Dust, Rocstrong, Row Hawke, State Lights, Slimzee, Synaesthete, The Albatross, The Cacks , Tu Ki, Vann Music, Voids.

This year, the festival adds another stage in the Bavaria stage. A Three Day ticket with camping costs €94 plus booking fee from the website.

Last week, the festival was in the news as successfully it put in an injunction against Abner Browns’ festival Canalpalooza for its intended use of the term ‘palooza’. The festival is now called Canalphonic.

Posted on March 30th, 2015


Artists: , , , , , , , ,

The English producer Murlo (not to be confused with Rusangano Family’s Murli), has a new two-track EP called Jasmine coming out next week.

Gemma Dunleavy features on the two tracks. The Irish singer was recently one-half of UNKNWN until they split and before that appeared occasionally with White Collar Boy and Clu as a vocalist, so her appearance here has form.

Where her vocals were woven into the atmospheres of UNKNWN’s music, with Murlo, Dunleavy is the leader, delivering two soulful vocals with a pop edge over two songs that are anything but. ‘Deep Breath’ has a synth-string sinogrime style while the title track has a dancehall grime vibe to it.

The tracks are on iTunes.

Posted on February 3rd, 2015

Artists: ,