Now Reading
Dublin label Major Problems is releasing Compassion Crew’s comp of “lucky breaks”

Dublin label Major Problems is releasing Compassion Crew’s comp of “lucky breaks”

The Dublin producer Compassion Crew has been tracking down some rare grooves over the years and the result has been cleared and licensed for release on the Major Problems label.

Compassion Cuts, Tapes & Acetates features 11 tracks that is “the culmination of years of patient and persistent collecting, chasing, calling, faxing, internet mailing, wining, dining and those all-too-rare deserts: lucky breaks. The search took him from an attic in America’s mid-west, to chasing holy-grail master tapes in Rome, BBQ’ing with Ethiopian synth royalty in Dublin and then further: to Sweden, the UK, Germany and Switzerland.”

It takes in raw analogue house and most-wanted italo; 808 and vocoder jams, proto-house; dope synth workouts; private press gospel and some experimental tracks.”

Get a load of the 1995 chilled piano-house track by Frak that bounces along with some synth and string pleasantries.

The album is released on double-gatefold vinyl and a special edition (25 only) to be pre-ordered at Bandcamp comes also with a sealed copy of Defuser’s private press LP, ’Music For A Comic Book Video’ from 1985, and a screen-print of Simon Landrein’s cover art.

Compassion Cuts, Tapes & Acetates Tracklisting

A1. Roger Davy ‘Brumes Sur Mars’
A2. Big City Orchestra ‘Kitty Push Here’
A3. Olivier Rogg ‘Final’
B1. PlusTwo ‘Fantasy’ (7” Version)
B2. Admas ‘Kalatashew Waga’
B3. Beatnik Love Affair ‘Bow Wow’
C1. Henrik Hektik & Thomas W. Sutter ‘Infernal Jet Waltz’
C2. Defuser ‘Bouquet Of Weeds’
D1. Frak ‘Uttoz Gives A Song’
D2. Philip Jeck ‘In Loving Memory’ (Walter Gibbons & Arthur Russell)
D3. Tetelestai ‘Prologue’