Now Reading
Irish vinyl electro compilation launching in Dublin at Culture Night late night event

Irish vinyl electro compilation launching in Dublin at Culture Night late night event

A new compilation celebrating a period of Irish electro music making in the late ’90s and early 2000s is to be launched at The Racket Space for Culture Night.

Dreams of Electric Bleep is a collection of Irish electro fro 1999​ to 2005, that features Decal, Americhord, Phil Kieran, Chymera and John Braine among others and comes out on October 6th on on Bandcamp through Sunil Sharpe’s Earwiggle label (October 13th worldwide).

The line-up for the Culture Night event at The Racket Space in Glasnevin features Phil KieranDecalMagnetizeJohn Braine, and Eliza on Friday September 22nd from 9pm – 3am. Tickete

Previews of the compilation are below.

Tickets are free unless you’re buying the record in advance for collection on the night. Get them from Eventbrite.

Another launch night in Galway happens on September 30th at Deep Sea Dweller at Áras na nGael with lineup TBC.

Dreams of Electric Bleep tracklist

A1. Decal – Free The Flange (Edit)

A2. Magnetize – Hard Copy

B2. Metroneem – Skip Code

B1. Americhord – Frqnz

C1. Phil Kieran – RIP

C2. Takeover Sound – Together In The Dark

D1. Chymera – Icicle (2023 Version)

D2. John Braine – A Shift Through The Shadows

About Dreams of Electric Bleep: A collection of Irish electro {1999​-​2005}

Emerging from the ashes of Ireland’s early rave era – that had been absorbed into the vastly commercialised club scene of the late ’90s – was an oft forgotten, but exceptionally fertile period for electronic music in Ireland. Spearheaded by the then Dublin duo of Decal (later becoming the solo project of Alan O’ Boyle), nurtured through nights like Phunk City at The Funnel, Model One at Switch and at a later point midweek club haunt Electric City, an unlikely Irish electro movement was born; breeding an abundance of new labels, parties and producers hungry to make their mark. “Dreams of Electric Bleep” revisits a crucial time of development (1999-2005), when production standards on the island of Ireland rose in perfect synchronicity with the collapse of the music industry as we knew it.

While Detroit, The Hague and London heavily influenced the sounds heard in the clubs, clubs in pubs, warehouses and great outdoors of Ireland – it was producers from Belfast, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Limerick and Mayo who created the first significant chunk of high-quality Irish electro, demonstrated here over a range of styles (originally released on a variety of local and international labels). This double 12″ Earwiggle release [EAR034] – featuring key tracks from Decal, Magnetize, Metroneem, Americhord, Phil Kieran, Takeover Sound, Chymera and John Braine – comes on picture-sleeved clear green vinyl, and includes a download code.

Special thanks to all of the labels who originally released this music: Mass Transit Records, Templedog, Satamile, Neuromantek, Trama Industries, Takeover Recordings, Invisible Agent Records and Headspace Recordings.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!