Now Reading
New releases out today: Dave, Darkside, Leon Bridges, Molly Burch, Emma-Jean Thackray & more

New releases out today: Dave, Darkside, Leon Bridges, Molly Burch, Emma-Jean Thackray & more


Friday is album release day and here’s a rundown of what’s been released on DSPs and physical releases in stores.

Kanye – Donda

A 16-track album premiered at a live event last night. Features Jay-Z Pop Smoke, Travis Scott, Pusha T, Baby Keem, Lil Baby, Lil Durk. Early reports weren’t good but in true Kanye fashion, it’s not on streaming yet.

Dave – We’re All Alone in This Together

Winner of the Mercury Music Prize steps up to the plate with album two. Features James Blake, WizKid, Stormzy, Snoh Aalegra and Boj.

Darkside – Spiral

Nicolás Jaar and Dave Harrington’s first Darkside album since 2013.

Leon Bridges – Gold-Diggers Sound

Third studio album Gold-Diggers Sound from the Texan singer features Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin and Ink.

Molly Burch – Romantic Images

Austin-based artist’s fourth studio album of dreamy disco pop via Captured Tracks.

Brittany Howard – Jaime (Reimagined)

A remix album with versions of Childish Gambino, Michael Kiwanuka, Bon Iver, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Jungle and more.

Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow

London jazz player and band leader’s latest is fun, proggy and dancey.

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – Butterfly 3000

18th studio album from the Aussies and only the second this year from them. Pitiful output.

Peyton – PSA

Really gorgeous soulful R&B vibes on the debut album on Stones Throw from the Texan artist.

Gifted & Blessed – Works Heard & Unheard

LA producer Gabriel Reyes-Whittaker collates a new album on Leaving Records.

Anika – Change

 First solo album in eight years from the artist with the Nico-style voice.

Alasdair Roberts and Völvur – The Old Fabled River

Drag City. In January 2019, at the invitation of fiddler Hans Kjorstad, Alasdair Roberts travelled from his home in Glasgow, Scotland to Oslo, Norway, where the two men convened with five additional Scandinavian musicians at Riksscenen, Oslo’s centre for Norwegian traditional arts and music.

Various Artists – Amapiano Now

An NTS compilation of South African house music genre of the moment.

Shame – Born in Luton Remixes EP

Remixers include PVA, Maximum Security (aka Austin Brown of Parquet Courts), DJ Diary (Black Midi) & more.

Power of Dreams – Auslander

Comeback album from Craig Walker and band billed as a companion piece to their 1990 debut Immigrants, Emigrants and Me.

Rowan – Everybody Talks EP

Cork indie rock band.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!