Now Reading
New releases out today: Stormzy, Stargaze, Bell X1, Crash Ensemble, Ikonika & more

New releases out today: Stormzy, Stargaze, Bell X1, Crash Ensemble, Ikonika & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

Stormzy – This Is What I Mean

Third album from English rapper features Sampha, Jacob Collier, Debbie and more, follows up Gang Signs & Prayer and Heavy Is The Head. ‘Hide & Seek’

​s ​t ​a ​r ​g ​a ​z ​e – One

The album on Transgressive Records by the Berlin-based collective, was remotely recorded orchestral suite specially composed for the S t a r g a z e ensemble by Tyondai Braxton (Battles), Nik Colk Void (Factory Floor / Carter Tutti Void), Greg Saunier (Deerhoof), Arone Dyer (Buke+Gase) and Aart Strootman (S t a r g a z e).

Marcel Dettmann – Fear Of Programming

Nearly 10 years on since his last solo LP, Berlin techno icon Marcel Dettmann arrives on Dekmantel with an album captured in a flash of inspiration.

Bobby Digital – Digital Potions

Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA resurrects his other moniker for the first time in 13 years. ‘Pugilism’

Bell X1 & Dowry Strings – Live At S. Luke’s

It’s been a real shot in the arm for us to play and re-imagine some of the old tunes with Dowry strings, and a springboard for some new ones.  It’s also led to a different way of playing live – we try to match the acoustic level of the strings, so playing much quieter than we would have been used to. Everyone playing into a shared space, mixing organically at source. It’s quite something to be up close with the Dowrys on a quiet stage and just be immersed in the sound… We’re thrilled to have captured this and to be putting out the live record”. – Paul Noonan

David Bowie – A Divine Symmetry | the journey to “Hunky Dory”

A four-disc compilation of demos and rarities from 1971.

Crash Ensemble – [REACTIONS]

Crash Ensemble marks 25 years this week, with this double album featuring recordings from composers who wrote for duos within the group. The [REACTIONS] composers are Amy Rooney, Anna Mieke, Anna Murray, Anselm McDonnell, Bebhinn McDonnell, Bekah Simms, David Fennessy, Deirdre Gribbin, Diamanda La Berge Dramm, Éna Brennan, Jonathan Nangle, Rachael Lavelle, Rose Connolly, Seán Ó’Dálaigh, Sebastian Adams, Siobhán Cleary, and Stephen Shannon. Bandcamp.

Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s Kitchen Disco

Live at The London Palladium.

The Cure Wish: 30th Anniversary Edition

Contains 24 previously unreleased tracks of rarities and demos to alternate mixes with four tracks that were previously only available from the mail order-exclusive tape Lost Wishes.

Waajeed – Memoirs of Hi-Tech Jazz

Inspired by revolutionary efforts against oppressive hegemonies in Detroit, and in Black locales around the world, Memoirs of Hi-Tech Jazz is a sound score evocative of that resistance. It is also a reminder that although violence and injustice looms, it is not the only story: we are much more than what oppresses us. The album celebrates Black leisure and play; the mundane joys that persist in spite of the depleting realities of the world. Bandcamp.

EP & 12″ Releases

Lakker – LKRTRX011

Berlin-based Irish electronic duo Lakker have been releasing a new EP every month in 2022. Bandcamp.

Celica – Celica EP

“Buzzy techno” on Sunken Foal’s Countersunk label. Bandcamp.

Aoife Wolf – The Wetlands EP

Belfast-based Offaly psych-folk singer-songwriter’s debut EP. ‘The Wetlands’

MIKE, Wiki & The Alchemist – One More

Collaborative rap three-track EP . Title track.

Ikonika – Bubble EP

Sara Chen’s electronic productions always pop and fizz with five new tracks, with Amapiano and deep house influence. Bandcamp.

Daire Patel – Pretty Sweet EP

Debut EP from Irish artist with hip-hop, lo-fi pop and alt R&B sounds. ‘Pretty Sweet’

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!