Now Reading
New releases out today: Vampire Weekend, Mount Kimbie, Khruangbin, Fabiana Palladino & more

New releases out today: Vampire Weekend, Mount Kimbie, Khruangbin, Fabiana Palladino & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

Nialler9 keeps a rolling list of Irish album releases here.

New Albums

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

The fifth studio album from Ezra Koenig, Chris Baio and Chris Tomson, five years on from Father Of The Bride, was inspired and haunted by 20th Century New York City, the album was recorded all over the world, from Manhattan to Los Angeles to London and Tokyo.

Mount Kimbie – The Sunset Violent

The fourth studio album from the now foursome of Mount Kimbie, who reconvene after their split instrumental electronic release MK3.5 in 2022.

Close collaborator King Krule appears, as does an increased emphasis on live shoegaze guitar and indie textures among its electronic bedding.

Fabiana Palladino – Fabiana Palladino

Jai Paul and The Paul Institute collaborator, releases her debut album on XL. The vocalist, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and producer has announced some gigs too including a Dublin gig on May 29th in the Workman’s Cellar. ‘Stay With Me Through The Night’ 

Khruangbin – A La Sala

The Texas psychedelic trio release their first album in four years on Dead Oceans.

The Texas trio are playing a big Dublin gig in November at 3Arena.

Annie-Claude Deschênes – LES MANIÈRES DE TABLE

Dark-sided electro on Italians Do It Better, from Montreal’s Annie-Claude Deschênes, co-produced by Johnny Jewel. Big swinging cinematic electro pop.

Vegyn – The Road To Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions

The enigmatic UK producer Vegyn has a prolific output, that touches on electronica and collaborations with rap and R&B artists. This one is considered his definitive work to date and features John Glacier, Lea Sen, Ethan P. Flynn, Lauren Adler and Matt Maltese.

Kojaque – Phantom Of The Afters, The Ballad Of Jackie Dandelion Director’s Cut

Contains three new songs, one of which is a new intro.

Albums also released today

  • Alice Russell – I Am
  • The Black Keys – Ohio Players
  • Bob Vylan – Humble As The Sun
  • Box Clone – Matrix
  • Bryson Tiller – Bryson Tiller
  • Conan Gray – Found Heaven
  • Doja Cat – Scarlet 2 CLAUDE
  • Einstürzende Neubauten – Rampen: apm (alien pop music)
  • J Cole – Might Delete Later
  • Kasper Bjørke – Puzzles
  • Jane Weaver – Love In Constant Spectacle
  • The Libertines – All Quiet On The Eastern Esplanade
  • Lizzy McAlpine – Older
  • Omar Souleyman – Erbil
  • Om Unit – Fragments
  • Phosphorescent – Revelator
  • Sinkane – We Belong
  • Still Corners – Dream Talk

New EPs out today

Ar Ais Ar​í​s Volume 1

A compilation from the Galway electronic music night Ar Ais Arís (AAA) whose first label release features five tracks from Irish electronic music producers Doubt, Plus One, Sloucho, Roo Honeychild and Luke Kiid flip of a Hazey track.

See Also

The compilation aims to It aims to capture the sound of contemporary club-ready bass music from Ireland, and the AAA party series.

New Members – ECO 1

New Members presents ECO 1, an expansive 14-track double LP which includes music recorded in several locations and countries between the years of 2013-2023. The LP presents a mesh of styles which obscure the boundaries between New Age, Ambient and Soundtrack to Country-Inspired Breaks, Vaporwave-Tinted Downtempo, and more. Weather Music is the mood. ECO 1 invites the listener into a strangely-familiar liminal soundscape.

ZASKA – Live At The Triskel EP

ZASKA’s five-songs EP features songs performed in the Cork venue with a  12-piece band with songs co-written and performed by Gemma Dunleavy, shiv, Melina Malone, and jarjarjr.

TROYOKAY – Down & Out EP

Dublin based artist draws from indie songwriting, punk, jazz, and hip-hop.

Dufi – Natural Selection EP

Galway producer Ian Duffy kicks off his Nurture label with four tracks of “exploratory danceatronics,” taking in eerie minimal house, acid, electronic and tech house.

Decal – Trama Artifacts

Irish electro producer Alan O’Boyle aka Decal shares a collection of music originally intended to be released on his label Trama Industries in the early 2000’s, now finding a home on TR-One’s Intrinsic Rhythm label.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!