Late Night Tales are releasing a “remastered” version of Four Tet’s 2004 mix compilation on vinyl and Mr Hebden isn’t too happy about it as he says he wasn’t asked for permission so he’s uploaded it in full plus his Jimi Hendrix cover.

Update: a Statement from Late Night Tales:

“As Late Night Tales started in the late 90s a lot of our older editions were only on CD. We have been steadily re-issuing the series on digital stores and, due to popular demand, on vinyl. We’d originally told Kieran about the reissue of his 2004 album when the digital was organised at the end of 2012. The reissues carry the original mix itself and the separated tracks. This vinyl edition is the same as that. If there’s been some confusion, Kieran has our details to get back in touch.”

Late Night Tales: Four Tet track list

1. Rahsaan Roland Lirk – Haunted Feelings
2. Koushik – Battle Rhymes for Battle Times
3. Hal Blaine – Wiggy (Edit)
4. Manfred Mann’s Chapter 3 – One Way Glass
5. Terry Riley – Music for The Gift (Part 2)
6. Max Roach (M’Boom) – January V
7. Tortoise – Why We Fight
8. Gravedigazz – 2 Cups of Blood
9. Joe Henderson – Earth
10. Linda Perhacs – Parallelograms
11. Fout Tet – Castles Made Of Sand
12. Del Jef Gilson and Malagasy – Valiha
13. Madvillain – Strange Ways (Koushik’s Remix)
14. Smoke – Griffo (Edit)
15. Fairport Convention – Tale in Hard Time
16. J Saunders – Tinkle
17. Icarus – Benevolant Incubator
18. Manitoba – 219 Beverley
19. David Shrigley – Don’ts

Posted on September 19th, 2013




I spent all of Monday afternoon listening to the first two mixtapes from The Weeknd, House of Balloons and Thursday. There’s enough quality material there that I really didn’t anticipate the final part of the trilogy would come before the end of the year but Echoes Of Silence is here and downloadable. 2011 has sure been a prolific year for Abel Tesfaye.

First impressions: it opens with a cover of Michael Jackson’s ‘Dirty Diana’, features lots of big crashing drums, Abel Tesfaye’s golden voice saying lots of “ooooohs”, production from Clams Casino on ‘The Fall’ and won’t frighten you if you dig the other two mixtapes. Get it here.


Richie Egan has been posting new demos on his Soundcloud for a while now but today he went ahead and put up all three of his albums for stream. After the jump, you can listen to 2008’s Choice Prize-winning Ritual, 2004’s The Monkeys In The Zoo Have More Fun Than Me and listen or download 2003’s Cosmosphere album. You’ll can also listen to all three via

Listen to the albums after the jump »

Posted on August 27th, 2010