Now Reading
55 Irish musicians & groups have received funds totalling €306,096 from the Music Capital Scheme

55 Irish musicians & groups have received funds totalling €306,096 from the Music Capital Scheme


In March, we shared the news that The Music Capital Scheme had a €335,500 fund for the 2022 round of funding for the purchase of musical instruments musicians across the spectrum.

The scheme introduced a new category this year just for emerging professional musicians.

A total of €306,096 was awarded this year, divided between 28 non-professional performing groups (€165,156), 18 individual talented musicians (€100,940) as well as 9 emerging professional performing musicians (€40,000).

The Music Capital Scheme was established by the Arts Council, supported by the Department for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media and managed by Music Network. It was established in 2008, and here is the list of this year’s awardees.

Award 1 – Non-professional performing groups

Awarded organisationAwarded
Accora Orchestra€6,758
Artane School of Music€16,133
Buíon Cheoil Rann na Feirste€6,135
Bunscoil Loreto€12,052
Carlow Choral Society€701
Carlow Voices€2,528
Castlecomer Community School (CCS)€1,732
CCÉ Craobh Osraí – Marble City Branch€2,569
Comharchumann Forbartha Ghaoth Dobhair, Scoil na Crannóige€13,110
Dublin Concert Band€3,303
Foróige Kilkenny€1,080
Foxford Brass & Reed Band€3,394
Irish Association of Youth Orchestras CLG€7,500
Laois School of Music€12,060
Maracatu ilha Brilhante€2,027
Masamba Samba School Social Economy Programme CLG€3,160
Mayo Academy for Performing Arts, t/a Music West€3,354
Na Píobairí Uilleann€13,650
New Ross and District Pipe Band€3,975
Orpheus Choir Sligo€663
Portlaoise Men’s Shed€1,215
Scoraíocht Lann Léire€3,701
Sligo Academy of Music€13,286
Sligo Gospel Choir€1,421
St. Mary’s Brass and Reed Band, Kingscourt€598
St. Patrick’s Brass and Reed Band€3,492
The Stedfast Band€18,652
Tralee Pipes & Drums (St John’s PB)€6,907

Award 2 – Individual established professional performing musicians

Awarded musicianInstrumentAward
Lina AndonovskaContrabass flute€9,000
Leonie BluettBass clarinet€5,249
Tara BreenFiddle€4,495
Cormac De BarraIrish harp€2,740
Caitríona FrostMarimba€4,545
Frankie GavinViolin bow€3,690
Mark KeaneHarpsichord€10,162
Stephen McGrathBass guitar€230
Ray McLoughlinNord grand piano€1,683
Beth McNinchViola d’amore€5,492
Hannah MillerNatural horn€9,892
Aoife Nic Athlaoich5-stringed piccolo cello€8,746
Caitlín Nic GabhannConcertina€3,590
Cormac O’BrienDouble bass€9,000
Larissa O’GradyViolin€10,000
Luan ParleAcoustic guitar€1,929
Peter ReganGrand piano€8,747
Eamon SweeneyTheorbo€1,750

Award 3 – Individual emerging professional performing musicians

Awarded musicianInstrumentAward
Christopher ColeElectro-acoustic guitar€878
Sharon HowleyCello€5,986
Tadhg McDonnell LeahyElectric guitar€3,840
Brian McNamaraSynthesiser€1,249
Rosie MurphyConcert harp€13,361
Kevin O’LoughlinViola & bow€6,500
Meadhbh O’RourkePiccolo€4,000
Niamh ReganElectric guitar€2,894
Aisling UnwinHarp case€1,292