This is only a selection of new music – dig into more or follow the Spotify playlists.

Nialler9 Weekly playlist


Purity Ring – Asido

Can you believe it’s been five years since the Canadian duo released their debut album? To mark the occasion, Purity Ring dropped this new song with Mike Oldfield bells and their trademark electro pop shades for a once-off single.


Susanne Sundfør & John Grant – Mountaineers

Norwegian Susanne Sundfør is a songwriter, producer and singer who has released five albums so far but who has recently taken a step up recently by signing to Bella Union for her sixth Music for People in Trouble in August 25th. Now, that label’s biggest name has contributed vocals to this song from the album and he contributes his deep baritone in reverb to a choral duet that builds into something much more forceful, swirling and unexpected. Sundfør plays The Sugar Club on Saturday October 7th.


Bullion – ‘Spin2Glory’

Uk producer Bullion dropped a new three-track EP recently but my highlight from it is the driving Lindstrom-esque electronic guitar and disco buzz of ‘Spin2Glory’.


Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – ‘An Intention’

Smith’s EARS album is my de facto ambient album to turn to to get work done to but that’s not a slight, it’s an effective backdrop for passive listening but there’s a lot to pay attention to as well. ‘An Intention’ is the first track from her followup –The Kid and continues her beguiling ambient electronic explorations.


Boy Harsher – ‘Motion’

A dark slice of hypnotic Factory Floor-esque coldwave from Massachusetts duo.


Palms Trax – ‘Honey Lemongina’

The fourth release in Dekmantel Record’s 10th anniversary celebratory EPs features this gem.


Skott – ‘Mermaid’

After a run of great singles, the Swedish artist Skott slows things down for a modern pop ballad.

3 New Music flavours:

All song added in the past week: Nialler9 Weekly.

The larger three-month New Music Playlist.

New Irish Music Playlist

Check out the regularly updated Spotify playlists.

Posted on July 27th, 2017

Artists: , , , , , ,

Todd Terje has released a fine set of remixes of his album tune ‘Alfonso Muskedunder’ from It’s Album Time! which takes the track’s hammy orchestral prog throwback vibes into something less esoteric.

There are four remixes in total from Deetron (who takes it percussive and deep while retaining the melody), a Bullion remix (more dance/funk), Mungolian Jetset (more steel drum style piano house) and my personal favourite Mungolian vs Terje himself (a brass soulful house take on things with a drum breakdown)

Here’s the animated video for the song

Posted on April 7th, 2015

Artists: , , ,

Bullion’s You Drive Me To Plastic was released on one-sided 20 minute long 12″ through Young Turks last year. It gets a CD release on April 25th. Here’s a funky Cut Chemist-esque track from it which gets its own release on May 25th on 12″ along with ‘Too Right’, from YDMTP, plus two new tracks ‘Good News On Her’ and ‘You Drive Me To Plastic’.

BULLION / Magic Was Ruler by Young Turks

Here’s the whole of You Drive Me To Plastic as brought to you by Bullion himself:

Bullion – You Drive Me To Plastic by bullionness

Posted on March 30th, 2011



Now that There Is Love In You is most likely seeping into your ear canal, you’ll probably be experiencing a lot of love for the record.

If you’re still looking for more, Mr. Hebden graced the airwaves of BBC Radio 1 with an outstanding two hour Essential Mix over the weekend to promote the release. It starts with my favourite track at the moment, ‘Angel Echoes’ and goes on to include tracks from Floating Points, Joy Orbison, Moodymann and is pretty much a must-hear from start to finish. Tracklisting below.

You can grab it on Hotfile via Core.

MP3: Four Tet – Angel Echoes

Also, this Bullion FACT mix is rather excellent.

Posted on January 26th, 2010


Artists: , , ,

A preview of some new albums hitting soon informs the 13 tracks on our 29th podcast. You’ll no doubt be getting acquainted with Contra at the moment if not, ‘Run’ exemplifies how much Vampire Weekend have advanced while still sounding like old. We’ve got tracks from Jesca Hoop’s brilliant album Hunting My Dress (also playing Dublin, Belfast and Galway in February), Bullion’s new single, a preview of Sam Amidon’s new one, a stonking rap number from Jay Electronica, an etheral, spooky cut from JJ, a beautiful soaring single from Frightened Rabbit, a track from James Pants’ new one Seven Seals as well as Laura Veirs and Rick Rubin-produced rising folk lads The Avett Brothers.

Aoife Mc is your podcast host – check out her food blog – I Can Has Cook? and of course her new radio show Right Click Radio on 2XM.

Nialler9 – Podcast29 Jan10 by Nialler9

Podcast #29 -Tracklisting

  1. Hudson Mohawke – FUSE – Butter
  2. Sam Amidon – How Come That Blood – I See The Sign
  3. Jesca Hoop – Whispering Light – Hunting my Dress
  4. Vampire Weekend – Run – Contra
  5. (more…)

Posted on January 12th, 2010


Artists: , , , , , , , , ,

Bullion flyer UP

In an effort to shine a light on the unknown artists and songs that pass through the mailbox of a music blogger, this semi-regular series will pick the artists most deserving of attention from nialler9 readers.

Bullion is Nathan Jenkins, the producer responsible for the Beach Boys/ J Dilla mashup album last year. This is from his forthcoming EP and definitely has a Dilla flavour.

Bullion – Young Heartache

From North Carolina comes this short and sweet folk ditty from Josh Kimbrough and friends aka Butterflies from the album Nothing’s Personal.

Butterflies – Mind Games

I’ve had Now That My TV Has Wings, I’ll Never Be Lonely by video? for a while now and I’m not sure where I got it from. The album is worming itself into my playlists. The work of Paul Jenkins, video? has won the award for Tucson’s best electronic music three years in a row (2005-2007) at Tucson Weekly’s annual Tammies awards.

..Music Video? – Tonight

Cereal is the new alias from Calum S. Gunn, the singer of Dananananaykroyd who also moonlights as breakcore artist Acrnym. This is a remix of ‘London Girl’ from The Invisible‘s latest release and is definitely not breakcore.

The Invisible – London Girl (Cereal remix)

MP3Hugger under his record exec guise of Indiecater has teamed up with Idaho’s The Very Most for a year long project that will see them release 4 download EPs through Indiecater. Each EP will be named after a season and will come out on the very first day of each one. This is from the Spring’ EP. Just €2.50 per EP to buy and it comes with original photograpy to match it.

The Very Most – April Is The Kindest Month

Dirty booty-bass on Big Dada courtesy of XRABIT + DMG$. An album Hello World is forthcoming.

XRABIT + DMG$ – Damaged Good$ (Photomachine Dubplate Remix)

When Kyp Malone is not with TV on the Radio he also plays in a band called Iran and while I’m not entirely convinced by the group, I thought his name alone is probably worth a punt. Their third album Dissolver is out this month.

Iran – I Can See The Future

Bonus Mix

A mix from Eomac, one half of Lakker, or Jenny and the Deadites called Mouvember Mix takes in Aphex Twin, Usher, Yo Majesty, Plaid, Burial, Altern-8, Timbaland, Mujava and more. Tracklisting.

Posted on February 10th, 2009