Teishi-1 passed along this compilation put together by Josco featuring 32 tracks from a diverse group of mostly electronic musicians called Untitled Ire.

Artists featured include Cillo, Bantum, Somadrone, Sunken Foal, T-woc, Revin Goff, Katie Kim, Forrests, Teishi-1, Nina Hynes and many more. These are artists who operate on the periphery of Ireland’s music scene and songs are both old and new.

It is a free download too:

Posted on February 10th, 2016

Artists: , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a quiet couple of years for Dublin duo Forrests on the recording front since the release of their debut EP Wilder in 2013 but Owen O’ Mahony and Paul O’Reilly have just released a new four-track EP today called Organs which was recorded in the intervening two years.

It serves as a nice check-in for the duo’s intricate and epic-facing electronic music that swirls the line between ambient music and more physical rhythms.

The EP is out on 12″ and digitally now from Bandcamp. The physical release comes with a unique photograph – a collobaration between the band and photographer Sarah Doyle. An edition of a single 12″ comes in a concrete sleeve (what’s the postage and packing on that?)!

The duo are playing two gigs in the next while on Saturday October 31st with Moodyman and The Cyclist in District 8 and at the Metropolis Festival on November 8th.

Posted on October 23rd, 2015



This year’s Valentia Isle Festival looks set to be a whopper. It takes place on the island off the coast of Kerry from Friday 13th to Sunday 15th September. Today, the festival has added DFA Records’ Pat Mahoney and Nancy Whang on the DJ Bill while New Jackson and Forrests have been added for live sets.

The festival already includes the likes of David Holmes, Heathers, Bronagh Gallagher, Jape, David Kitt, Donal Dineen, RSAG, Daithí, Young Wonder, Mighty Stef, Arveene, Together Disco, Fish Go Deep, Stevie G, Barry Redsettaz, Cat Dowling, Ghost Estates and more.

Tickets of the early bird variety are on sale priced €60 or €75 with camping from www.entertainment.ie and the shops listed below.

Here’s what last year looked like:


Posted on August 6th, 2013


Artists: , , ,


Forrests‘ debut Wilder EP contains six tracks of analogue and digital electronica that wraps itself in a warm glow. Keys notes, wood percussion and voice seeemingly float above much their tracks’ main rhythms, unfolding less like an exact arrangement but a collection of sound exhaling and inhaling to the same rhythm.

In that way, the duo of Owen O’ Mahony and Paul O’Reilly share the same rolling inexactitudes as Fuck Buttons and that characteristic lends itself to the cerebral hits of ‘Billion’ and ‘Latitude’, which is close to M83 in its widescreen ambient yet anthemic feel.

As a debut, the EP lays out the duo’s core sound. They are now able to take further flight. The Wilder EP is out now on FirstBlastPetite and will be available in All City and Elastic Witch in Dublin on vinyl this week. Listen to it here:

Posted on July 9th, 2013



Last month, Forrests supported And So I Watch You From Afar, the night before they played in London with hotly-tipped Danish pop singer . That’s a good showing from a duo who have yet to formally release anything. But all that will change next month when Paul O’Reilly and Owen O’ Mahony release the Wilder EP on BlastFirstPetite Records on July 8th.

The six-track EP will feature ‘Billions’ and ‘Tarifa’ the first two tracks the band previously released onlnie alongside four other new tracks. The band will be playing Body & Soul too at the Midnight Circus stage just after 10pm next Saturday.

Watch their performance of ‘Billions’ on Other Voices from this week on the RTE Player. It starts at 32.05. Tracklist of the EP below.


Posted on June 14th, 2013



Two Irish summer festivals today added some bands to their respective lineups.

First up, Body & Soul added Nialler9 favourite Kate Boy, Forrests, Wallis Bird, Fuck Buttons and The Congos to their musical lineup. That adds to a lineup that includes Nick Cave, Solange, Kurt Vile, Charles Bradley, Pantha Du Prince and more for June 21st- 23rd.

Indiependence meanwhile added Cymbals, Ryan Sheridan, We Are Scientists, Foy Vance, Walking On Cars and New Sunset Hotel to their lineup for August Bank Holiday weekend 2nd to 4th which already announced Bastille, Beardyman, ASIWYFA, De La Soul, Le Galaxie, Mmoths and others.

Posted on April 17th, 2013


Artists: ,

38 tracks from 38 countries chosen by 38 bloggers from Argentina to Canada to Iceland to Peru to Russia to Venezuela. Every month, MAP (Music Alliance Pact) asks music bloggers to represent their home country and to pick a track that represents a nation. The results are posted on all of those blogs on the 15th of each month (I’m a bit late), downloadable in one file or playable one by one on each blog.
Ireland is represented by Forrests, who you can catch at Minimum Maximum #4 on Saturday September 29th.

Click the play button icon to listen to individual songs, right-click on the song title to download an mp3, or grab a zip file of the whole 38-track compilation through Ge.tt here.

Posted on September 17th, 2012


Forrests’ debut track ‘Billions’ received lots of attention for a debut track and with an album almost ready to go, Paul O’ Reilly and Owen O’ Mahony are now moving into live performances. They are playing Electric Picnic next weekend and the Minimim Maximum shows on the 29th of September. There’s a show happening elsewhere imminently if you keep an eye on their Facebook.

‘Tarifa’ is another indication of the duo’s sound and what to expect from those gigs, not too far away from the sounds of their mother band Channel One, but deeper into electronica, with an assured assimilation and knowledge of what makes music move people in a grand capacity.

Posted on August 23rd, 2012



While Dublin’s Channel One are on hold, band members Paul O’ Reilly and Owen O’ Mahony have made an album of electronic material together as Forrests. ‘Billions’ is the first listen to the band, a succint instrumental track that mines similar sky-reaching terrain as M83’s starry-eyed moments. Ones to keep an eye on.

Download the track from Bandcamp and like the band on Facebook.

Posted on April 16th, 2012

Artists: ,