With the preparation for festival season well and truly underway, everyone’s news feeds are inundated with artist announcements. Today, Moira Calling have released a lineup which stands out from the crowd.

Based in the town of Moira Co. Armagh, Moira Calling is a music and arts festival with a passion for all things local. Running for the third year in a row, the two day festival prides itself on it’s family friendly and community driven approach.

This years lineup boasts an impressive array of domestic talent sporting a diverse mix of sounds and styles. Electronic producer Ryan Vail is headlining playing with the Arco String Quartet on the Friday. Also in the mix is folk singer Joshua Burnside, Belfast-based hip-hop artist Jordan Adetunji and many more. All of which are based in Northern Ireland, a dedication to local talent not many other festivals can claim.

Here’s the list in full:

  • Ryan Vail + Arco String Quartet
  • Joshua Burnside
  • Owen Denvir
  • Jordan Adetunji
  • Marsicians
  • Vokxen
  • Hunkpapa
  • Rews
  • Beauty Sleep
  • The Led Farmers
  • Outlya
  • Tuskany
  • Runabay
  • Bernadette Morris
  • Loughshore Choir
  • Moria Primary School Festival Singers

The festival takes place on the 7th and 8th of September. Weekend and Day tickets are on sale now. Friday tickets for Ryan Vail and Arco String Quartet are £12.50 while Saturday for the main lineup is £30 plus fees.

Posted on May 4th, 2018


Artists: , ,

Winner of the IMRO small festival of the year award for 2017 and one of the most endearing festivals in Ireland, Another Love Story is back once more and have announced their music lineup for the festival which takes place at the grounds of Killyon Manor, Co Meath from August 17th – 19th 2018.

The lineup includes:

  • Mammal Hands
  • Cloud Castle Lake
  • The Lost Brothers
  • Ships
  • O Emperor
  • Mount Alaska
  • Somadrone
  • R Kitt
  • Pillow Queens
  • Davy Kehoe
  • Solkatt
  • Dowry
  • Joshua Burnside
  • Anna Mieke
  • Sorcha Richardson
  • Deaf Joe
  • Robert John Ardiff
  • Nava
  • Roe
  • Inni K
  • The Silken Same
  • Sun Collective
  • Attention Bebe
  • Interskalatic
  • Graham Mc Sweeny
  • Simon O’Reilly
  • Royal Yellow
  • The Glasshouse Collective
  • Donal Dineen
  • Eddie Kay
  • Lil Dave
  • My House DJs
  • Bodytonic DJs
  • Nialler9
  • The Als Shift Shack with Cian O’C, Claire F, Emma K, Andrew K, Neil F, Emmet C, Paddy D, Tom R

Tier 4 tickets priced at €190+ are available now via Eventbrite.ie.

Other Occurrences :
The Shift Shack | The Library By Yhrf | The Front Room | The Big Stretchy
For Conor | This Must Be The Place | My House Presents : Way Out There |
& More Tba

Regular and boutique camping on offer.

Other Details
Return Bus from Dublin To ALS : €18
Camper van tickets (very limited) : €20
No Sunday camping – event runs 19.00 Fri Aug 18th – 19.00 Sun Aug 20th.
Under 12’s go free accompanied by adult
12-18 year olds are not permitted
Dogs Free!

Posted on April 19th, 2018

Artists: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Northern Irish experimental folk songwriter and producer Joshua Burnside has been awarded with the Northern Ireland Music Prize 2017 for his debut album EPHRATA.

The album’s first single was debuted on Nialler9 and the release has a José Gonzalez-esque. It has Eastern European and South American influences (as it was recorded in Colombia) but retains the Co. Down native’s Northern Irish roots with his colloquially-driven vocals.

Guests on the record include Hozier cellist Alana Henderson.

Previous winners of the Norther Ireland Music Prize include Ciaran Lavery, Soak, Robyn G Shiels and Foy Vance.

Joshua will preform as part of the music trail for Other Voices in Dingle this December and a new deluxe version of the album is released this month.

Listen on Spotify

Posted on November 13th, 2017



The Northern Irish singer-songwriter Joshua Burnside will release Ephrata his album conceived and inspired by Columbia and its music tomorrow (Friday). ‘Blood Drive’ has an undeniable José Gonzalez feel to it and Derry producer Ryan Vail augments that the track with texture and ambience with his take.

Now in this video for the remix, shot in Berlin by Joe Wright, the song serves as a backdrop to a clip that “deals with the theme of anxiety focused on social breakdown and fear of impending doom for society.”

Ephrata is out tomorrow on Quiet Arch Records.
He plays Dublin on June 15th at Bellobar, as part of Nialler9 and Homebeat’s Future Proof gig series.

Posted on May 4th, 2017

Artists: ,

The Northern Irish alt-folk singer-songwriter Joshua Burnside has a new album forthcoming on Quiet Arch called Ephrata on May 5th.

Burnside who has been a regular feature on the NI scene for a few years, wrote the album over a few weeks while living in Colombia, as you do where he stayed with a cousin and playing with a Cumbia band. Ephrata then, is said to have influences from South America and Eastern Europe and the album title is the name of a small town in Pennsylvania that Burnside visited. The night he stayed a nearby market burned down and fire engines soundtracked his attempts at sleep and that discombobulation fed into the music of the title track.

Guests on the record include Hozier cellist Alana Henderson, his brother Connor on drums and percussions, electronic solo artist Rachael Boyd on violin and synths, Clark Phillips on bass and Sarah Martin on trumpet.

Those experiences seeped into the music which sounds at times like Sufjan and Conor Oberst. Ephrata‘s lead single ‘Tunnels Pt.2’ is awash with urgency, imagination and immediacy.

Burnside plays Output on February 16th.

EPHRATA Tracklist

  1. blood drive
  2. tunnels pt.2
  3. concubine
  4. holllllogram
  5. 26th st
  6. tunnels pt.1
  7. ephrata
  8. fightorfight
  9. the unrequited kind
  10. the good word

Posted on January 31st, 2017