Now Reading
Battles – ‘Ice Cream’

Battles – ‘Ice Cream’


When Tyondai Braxton announced he was leaving Battles, a large part of me wasn’t surprised. When the band played in Tripod in December 2009, Braxton seemed to have to be selfishly dominating things. I have this vague impression of the rest of the band staring at him for most of the gig, waiting for their turn to join in, while Braxton played wizard to a table of pedals and effects.

It’s since been announced that the new Battles album Gloss Drop in June will feature vocals from Gary Numan, The Boredoms’ Yamantaka Eye, Blonde Redhead Kazu Makino, and Kompakt’s Matias Aguayo.

Aguayo takes the lead vocal for the band’s first single from the album – ‘Ice Cream’. It suggests Gloss Drop may be a return to rainbow-bright rock music with just enough diversive friction while swaying away from the over-indulgence that Braxton seemed to be leading them into. Here’s a radio rip of the single from Zane Lowe. Time will tell.

Battles – Ice Cream (Radio rip)

See Also


01 ‘Africastle’
02 ‘Ice Cream’ (Feat. Matias Aguayo)
03 ‘Futura’
04 ‘Inchworm’
05 ‘Wall Street’
06 ‘My Machines’ (Feat. Gary Numan)
07 ‘Dominican Fade’
08 ‘Sweetie & Shag’ (Feat. Kazu Makino)
09 ‘Toddler’
10 ‘Rolls Bayce’
11 ‘White Electric’
12 ‘Sundome’ (Feat. Yamantaka Eye)

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!
View Comment (1)

Comments are closed