, Choice Music Prize 2009 shortlist
Now Reading
Choice Music Prize 2009 shortlist

Choice Music Prize 2009 shortlist

Here are the ten for the Choice Prize this year. Delighted to see ASIWYFA get a nod as well as Julie Feeney and Valerie Francis in particular. It’s a pity there was no room for David Kitt’s The Nightsaver. I figured albums from BATS, The Holy Roman Army, Twinkranes and Patrick Kelleher were maybe a little too out there to all get on the list. I don’t get the appeal of Duckworth Lewis Method myself but sure there ya go. After being a judge last year (list below), all I can say is good luck and enjoy. Nine of these albums (with the exception of Laura Izibor) featured in the top 30 Nialler9 Irish album poll.

Spotify playlist of 8 of the 10 albums here.

  1. And So I Watch You From Afar – And So I Watch You From Afar
  2. Bell X1 – Blue Lights on the Runway
  3. CODES – TreesDreamInAlgebra
  4. Adrian Crowley – Season of the Sparks
  5. Dark Room Notes – We Love You Dark Matter
  6. Duckworth Lewis Method – Duckworth Lewis Method
  7. Julie Feeney – Pages
  8. Valerie Francis – Slow Dynamo
  9. Laura Izibor – Let the Truth Be Told
  10. The Swell Season – Strict Joy

The judges for this year are:
Martin Burns (News of the World)
Josh Clarke (i105-i107, Galway)
Roisin Dwyer (Hot Press)
Tony Fenton (Today FM)
Cathal Funge (Phantom 105.2, Dublin)
Padraic Halpin (Ragged Words)
Sophie Gorman (Irish Independent)
John McMahon (2fm)
Rob O’Connor (Beat 102-103, Waterford)
Eva Staic (Spin 1038, Dublin)
Chris Wasser (Evening Herald)
Aoife Woodlock (Other Voices)

Support Nialler9 on Patreon