Now Reading
Here’s the shortlist for the Choice Music Prize this year

Here’s the shortlist for the Choice Music Prize this year


It’s out!

Some ardent Irish music geeks (ourselves very much included) have been waiting for the RTE Choice Music Prize to announce the final shortlist for the 2019 album award.

It’s been the subject of some heated debate, both here in the office and in wilds of Irish music Twitter. You’ll either be feeling very smug about your predictions or eating a large slice of humble pie.

Here’s the 10 albums on this year’s list:

Daithi – L.O.S.S. (Strange Brew)
Mick Flannery – Mick Flannery (Rosaleen Records)
Fontaines D.C. – Dogrel (Partisan Records)
Girl Band – The Talkies (Rough Trade Records)
Jafaris – Stride (DFL)
Junior Brother – Pull The Right Rope (Strange Brew)
Lankum – The Livelong Day (Rough Trade Records)
Soak – Grim Town (Rough Trade Records)
Maija Sofia – Bath Time (Trapped Animal Records)
Sorcha Richardson – First Prize Bravery (Faction Records)

No nods for Mango x Mathman’s Casual Work, Picture This’ self-titled record, Hozier’s second album, The Murder Capital’s When I Have Fears, Tandem Felix’s Rom-Com, Talos’ Far Out Dust, Maria Somerville’s All My People, Jape’s Sentinel, Dermot Kennedy’s Without Fear, Anna Mieke’s Idle Mind, A Lazarus Soul or Borders, the Northern Ireland Music Prize album of the year, from Ryan Vail and Elma Orkestra.

It’s a good mix of electronic, folk, rock, hip-hop, trad, indie with big pop acts losing out as per usual with more esoteric acts missing out also.

What are your thoughts? Anyone crucial missing or did they judges panel get the nail on the head?

The Choice Music Prize will be awarded at a live ceremony in Vicar Street on 5th, you can purchase a ticket from €28+ right here.

The 11 judges are:
Claire Beck (Today FM)
Andrea Cleary (Nialler9 Podcast / Freelancer)
Molly King (Other Voices)
Eoin Murray (The Thin Air)
Sarina Bellissimo (Spin 1032)
Steve Grainger (Red FM Cork)
Jenny Greene (RTÉ 2FM)
Michael Lanigan (Sunday Business Post)
Roisin McNickle (BBC Northern Ireland)
Fiachna Ó Braonáin (RTÉ Radio 1)
Tadgh Williams (Beat 102-103)