Now Reading
CMAT announces second album CrazyMad, For Me; single ‘Have Fun!’

CMAT announces second album CrazyMad, For Me; single ‘Have Fun!’

CMAT has announced her second album CrazyMad, For Me, is set to be released on October 13th 2023, the followup to the Choice Music Prize-winning album If My Wife New I’d Be Dead.

It’s billed as a reinvention of what came before, “the mainstream indie that CMAT loved as a teenager, filtered through 20th century country music, amplified by knowledge of 80s and 90s pop hits with a slide guitar and a camp twist.”

“It’s an abstract break-up album… about what happens when you are still angry about something that happened 10 years ago.”

It features very memorable song titles of course, – ‘Vincent Company’, named after the Belgian ex-Manchester City footballer and manager of Burnley, the Sex And The City-referencing ‘Such A Miranda’, ‘I… Hate Who I Am When I’m Horny’ and a song featuring John Grant called ‘Where Are Your Kids Tonight?’.

Watch the video for the new song ‘Have Fun!’, with a video shot in Paris and Dublin by Collective Films’ Greg Purcell.

“This is a song about ring necked parakeets that are wild in London, but it is also a song about getting over a breakup and moving on from an emotional stalemate even when you don’t, or can’t, forgive the other person’s actions. I suppose it is a song about how things in life are never satisfying, and don’t make sense, but they exist anyway and we have to make the best of it. And have fun!

CMAT – CrazyMad, For Me; Tracklist:

  1. California
  2. Phone Me
  3. Vincent Kompany
  4. Such A Miranda
  5. Rent
  6. Where Are Your Kids Tonight? (feat. John Grant)
  7. Can’t Make Up My Mind
  8. Whatever’s Inconvenient
  9. I… Hate Who I Am When I’m Horny
  10. Torn Apart
  11. Stay For Something
  12. Have Fun!

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!