Now Reading
First Listen: Booka Brass – Chilled Milk

First Listen: Booka Brass – Chilled Milk


Since appearing on the live scene a few years ago, Booka Brass have built a great reputation for themselves through a swell of party-starting live gigs, clutch of original New Orleans’ style brass and covers of known songs. In the process, they paved the way for the likes of Stomptown Brass locally too.

On their debut album Chilled Milk, the band drew from those marquee gigs and festival appearances to graduate to a full-length album that doesn’t lose any of that live in-the-room energy. The ten songs were all worked on by jamming with the band, leading to the swerving chase of ‘Astrocyte’, the bachanalia of ‘Made That Do Noise’, the more jazzy ‘Portobello’,  the head nod jam of ‘BBB’ and their Jason Derulo cover of ‘Talk Dirty’. A riot of sound and a next step for the best brass band in the country.

Booka Brass Band’s album is Chilled Milk is out tomorrow September 16th on iTunes, Spotify and GooglePlay.

Track Listing

  1. Make That Do Noise
  2. Trip The Switch
  3. Chilled Milk
  4. Astrocyte
  5. Portobello
  6. BBB
  7. A l’Ouest
  8. Trombolo
  9. Talk Dirty
  10. Formations
Booka Brass - Talk Dirty
Booka Brass ft. Hannah Grace - Crazy In Love

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!