Now Reading
First Listen: Tomorrows’ new album Another Life

First Listen: Tomorrows’ new album Another Life


Tomorrows are a band made up of members of defunct Dublin bands Biggles Flys Again, The Chapters, Jethro Pickett and Woodheart. Conor Deasy (Guitar, Keys, Lead Vocals) Jethro Pickett (Guitar, Keys, Vocals) Ben Shorten (Guitar, Keys, Vocals) Michael Murphy (Bass) and Ciaran Fortune (Drums) take their inspiration from vintage rock, folk and prog, which all too easily could draw a blank or produce pastiche.

Yet, over their debut album’s 10 tracks there’s an ease and comfort with the source materials that means pop-smudged psychedelic pop (The Circle), wistful indie (Another Life), drifting orchestral lifts (Free), Super Furry Animals-esque vistas (Departures) and Beatles ballads (Retrospectives), all fit snugly together in a bright fashion.

Another Life was recorded first at Dublin’s Hellfire studios before rather increduously, Jethro “was forced to return to Tasmania to start work on a rock opera, a field he’s always despised”. The album was then completed over two hemispheres and nine time zones.

The album is released today on Trout Records. Listen to it here.


Vinyl purchase link.

Tour dates