Now Reading
Fontaines D.C Drummer Tom Coll to release vinyl compilation of Irish trad

Fontaines D.C Drummer Tom Coll to release vinyl compilation of Irish trad

Tom Coll, the drummer with Fontaines D.C has announced a compilation of Irish traditional music to be released on heavyweight 180g vinyl on August 6th.

Goitse A Thaisce (A Compilation of Irish Music – Volume One) will be released on Tom’s own label Skinty Records, limited to 100 copies and features tracks from Planxty, The Bothy Band, Emer Mayock, Dervish, Lisa O’Neill, Ye Vagabonds and more. See the tracklist below.

Tom says:

“The idea for this record came from an extended period of time living back in my family home in the west of Ireland. Here, I found myself in the midst of a vast, mountainous landscape, a place that vividly recalled my childhood memories of old Irish traditional music. This experience sparked a need to immerse myself in the tradition once again. Trad was my first musical love over any other, so it feels very gratifying to put together this compilation.

Every tune on this record holds a special place in my heart. Whether it’s by lifelong heroes such as The Bothy Band or Planxty, family friends like Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh or Emer Mayock, or by contemporary artists pushing the boundaries of the tradition like Lisa O’Neill or Ye Vagabonds, these songs have soundtracked my life thus far.

If this record can introduce just one person to the world of Irish music, then it has served its purpose. The tradition has so much depth and richness to it, and I urge you to please delve into it with an open heart. The title of the record roughly translates to “come here my darling,” which is the sentiment I feel when I hear these tunes. Hopefully they can bring about that same feeling for you.”

Album Track Listing:

Side A
1. Martin Wynn’s / The Longford Tinker – The Bothy Band
2. Arthur McBride – Andy Irvine & Paul Brady
3. Apples In Winter – Dervish
4. Bacach Shíol Andaí – Ye Vagabonds
5. Farewell To Whalley Range – Sharon Shannon / Mike McGoldrick / Jim Murray / Dezi Donnelly

Side B
1. Sí Bheag, Sí Mhor – Planxty
2. Oro, Se Do Bheatha ‘Bhaile – Joe Heaney
3. Méiltí Cheann Dubhrann / Cloch Na Ceithre Mhíle – Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh & Frankie Kennedy
4. Joihn Doherty’s / Charlie McKernon’s / The Antrim Rose – Emer Mayock
5. The Factory Girl – Lisa O’Neill
6. The Parting Glass – The Dubliners

Pre-order the album.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!