Now Reading
Future Islands announce new album People Who Aren’t There Anymore

Future Islands announce new album People Who Aren’t There Anymore


The Baltimore synth-pop foursome have announced a new record out on January 26th 2024 on 4AD.

Future Islands have released a new song ‘The Tower’ from the band’s forthcoming 2024 album.

Coming after their recent As Long As You Are tour, the band are not wasting time announcing their seventh record, the followup to 2020’s As Long As You Are.

A video for the’The Tower’, directed by Jonathan van Tulleken (Top Boy, Shogun) is below. This marks the second project Van Tulleken and Herring have worked on together — the two collaborated on Apple TV’s The Changeling, whose first season aired this Autumn.

The track follows previously released singles ‘Deep In The Night’ here, ‘King of Sweden’ here and ‘Peach’ here, which also feature on People Who Aren’t There Anymore. 

People Who Aren’t There Anymore was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright, and mixed by Steve Wright and Chris Coady (who returns to working with the band for the first time since 2014’s Singles).


1. King of Sweden
2. The Tower
3. Deep In The Night
4. Say Goodbye
5. Give Me The Ghost Back
6. Corner Of My Eye
7. The Thief
8. Iris
9. The Fight
10. Peach
11. The Sickness
12. The Garden Wheel

See Also
Silverbacks. Photo: Róisín Murphy O'Sullivan

 People Who Aren’t There Anymore will be released on January 26, 2024 and will be available digitally, on CD and cassette, and on standard back vinyl, transparent vinyl (indie retail only), and yellow & black ‘yolk’ vinyl with alternative artwork (4AD/D2C Exclusive).
Future Islands are Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming), and Michael Lowry (drums)

People Who Aren’t There Anymore heralds a new chapter for Future Islands who, despite having formed nearly two decades ago, continue to challenge themselves and each other. Where they’ve pursued ever-higher energy anthems in the past, they’ve turned inward this time, and unlocked a new level of ferocity, delivering some of their most inspiring and most heartbreaking tracks by doing the opposite: taking their time, making each breath, each syllable, each cymbal crash count.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!