Idles announced for two Dublin Vicar Street shows


Idles have announced an Irish and UK tour for 2021 that includes two dates at Vicar Street next May.

The dates for the UK rock band’s Dublin gigs are May 16th & 17th 2021 and tickets go on general sale on Friday August 28th at 10am.

Ahead of the release of the band’s new album Ultra Mono on September 24th, you can access the presale by pre-ordering a copy of the album on their site – http://IDLESBAND.COM – if you do it before 10pm Tuesday August 25th.

 Pre-sale codes will be sent via email at 11pm that night and presale begins at 10am on Wednesday August 26th.

The band are also doing three live streams show this Saturday and Sunday from Abbey Road which you can buy tickets for here.

Idles – Ultra Mono tracklist

3. Mr. Motivator
4. Anxiety
5. Kill Them With Kindness
6. Model Village
7. Ne Touche Pas Moi
8. Carcinogenic
9. Reigns
10. The Lover
11. A Hymn
12. Danke

About the album:

Recorded in Paris and produced by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire) and Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Anna Calvi, Cut Copy), with Kenny Beats (FKA Twigs, DaBaby, Vince Staples) providing additional programming, Ultra Mono was sonically constructed to capture the feeling of a hip-hop record. Across all twelve brutally relevant tracks, the band double down on the vitriolic sneer and blunt social commentary of their past work, with themes of active presence, inclusivity, class, gender inequality, nationalism, community, and toxic masculinity remaining ever-present. Ultra Mono also features guest vocals from Jehnny Beth (Savages), and additional guest contributions from Warren Ellis (Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds), David Yow and Jamie Cullum.

If their last record – 2018’s Joy As An Act Of Resistance – was meant to detail IDLES’ manifesto, then Ultra Mono is the sound of the band heading into battle, battering ram in hand, for those tenets. The phrase “momentary acceptance of the self” serves as spiritual guide and mantra throughout, as Talbot elaborates on further in an essay printed inside the album’s physical packaging (read that HERE). 

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!