Now Reading
Inbox Jukebox

Inbox Jukebox


With between 50-100 promo emails coming through each day, it can be hard to give due coverage to everything I’d like to feature. Here are some songs I’ve been sent which deserve more of your time and mine.

  1. A 19 year-old dude from Indiana named Joseph Denny who makes music under the name of Spirit Spine. He’s got many a blogger watching him already. He took his name from a ’70s documentary about people with severed spinal cords who still feel they can walk. His music is like an amalgamation of Dan Deacon, Panda Bear and Washed Out; playful samples and chambered arrangements that belie his Garageband production methods.

    He’s got a single Crashers (Highs And Lows) out in two weeks on Makemine Records, a 7″ label who has previously released Gold Panda, The Books and Plastic Little . You can get it from Rough Trade. An album Jungle Bridges has been released Stateside and ‘Flashes’ from that is below.

    MP3: Spirit Spine – Crashers Highs and Lows

    MP3: Spirit Spine – No Psychic

    MP3: Spirit Spine – Flashes

  2. Scottish band Errors have a new album Come Down With Me due out in March and it looks like they may finally, in my eyes, live up to the initial promise I had for them a few years back (I was big into ‘Salut France!’). Here’s the band remixing Vessels and getting remixed by The Twilight Sad. Listen to ‘A Rumour in Africa’ on their myspace. They play The Academy 2, Dublin on March 25th and the Black Box, Belfast on the next night.

    MP3: Vessels – An Idle Brain and the Devil’s Workshop (Errors remix)

    MP3: Errors – This New Technology (The Twilight Sad remix)

  3. Elegant beat instrumentals from London’s “King of Glitch Hop”, MusSck. His album Land of Animation is out now on Daly City. Definitely check this one.

    MP3: MusSck – Town Made of Clouds

    MP3: MusSck – Land of Animation promo mix

  4. From my Ones to Watch 2010 list, May 68, unleash their remix of Hot Club De Paris.

    MP3: Hot Club De Paris – Extra Time Then Sudden Death (MAY68 Remix)

  5. Alan Wilkis takes on Yeasayer’s ‘Ambling Alp’. Watch out for this guy’s remixes. He good.

    MP3: Yeasayer – Ambling Alp (Alan Wilkis remix)

  6. A nice B-side from Frightened Rabbit’s most new single ‘Nothing Like You’. The album The Winter Of Mixed Drinks is out on the 26th of February.

    MP3: Frightened Rabbit – Fun Stuff

  7. An Emalkay dubby remix of Miike Snow’s ‘Sylvia’. There’s a Sinden remix floating about too.

    MP3: Miike Snow – Sylvia (Emalkay Dubstep remix)

  8. Oddly bonkers remix by Simon Bookish of my favourite track ‘Keep The Dog Quiet’ from Owen Pallett’s new album Heartland, . You can also stream the album on Soundcloud.
  9. Finally, From Los Angeles via Philadelphia comes the experimental obscure pop of Hands. More here.

    MP3: Hands – Hold

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!
View Comments (2)

Comments are closed