Now Reading
Irish indie titans Squarehead share new single ‘Morning’ & details of first album in 6 years

Irish indie titans Squarehead share new single ‘Morning’ & details of first album in 6 years

Six years have passed since the release of Irish indie group Squarehead’s last LP Respect. The band have spent that time taking a much needed mental health break, after years of relentlessly recording and touring.

Lately, the band, Roy Duffy, Ian McFarlane and Ruan Van Vliet, have been making some moves. They released ‘Always On‘ in November of last year, a track which had us anticipating the group’s return to the fray proper. Then the group played our Musictown all ages gig in April, their set featured plenty of exciting new material.

So it’s a pleasure to hear the group finally unveil plans for a new LP. High Time is set for release on September 27th through Strange Brew Records. The album charts the band’s personal and collective growth over the past number of years and is expected to highlight a relatively new direction for the group.

To whet our appetites, the group have released a dreamy new single called ‘Morning’.


Speaking on the inspiration behind the track, the band say “Morning is a Beatlesesque slow build set in the hazy middle ground between the sleep and waking state. This netherworld is made all the more alluring by the presence of a new lover who is being pleaded with to join their partner back in half sleep. The song is an experiment with restraint, pace and lyrical economy that mirrors the experience of regaining consciousness.”

Squarehead – High Times Tracklist

  1. Cdhr
  2. Los Paradiso
  3. Waves
  4. Name and Number
  5. Crossover
  6. Morning
  7. Always On
  8. Ignorance
  9. After the Sun
  10. Maybe

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!

Become a patron at Patreon!