Now Reading
Jamie xx reveals solo album details & two tracks

Jamie xx reveals solo album details & two tracks


Just as exciting as the prospect of new music from the xx is a solo album from their producer Jamie xx who has revealed two pieces of music from exactly that.

In Colour, the album is out on May 29th on Young Turks. ‘Loud Places’ features Romy Madley-Croft and has bright piano summery chords with trademark Jamie percussion and Romy vocal delivery that recalls The Avalanches in its sampled chorus from Idris Muhammad’s ‘Could Heaven Ever Be Like This’ (thanks Stevie G for the tip). The video just dropped:

Jamie xx - Loud Places (ft Romy)

‘Gosh’ meanwhile is a much harder cut, that recalls old-school jungle and drum and bass, like a Jamie version of Four Tet’s ‘Parallel Jalebi’ but it transforms into something akin to Orbital.

Jamie xx - Gosh

In Colour features previous singles ‘Girl’ and ‘Sleep Sound’ as well as guests the xx’s Oliver Sim, Young Thug and Popcaan and Four Tet.


1. Gosh
2. Sleep Sound
3. SeeSaw (featuring Romy with Four Tet production)
4. Obvs
5. Just Saying
6. Stranger In A Room (featuring Oliver Sim)
7. Hold Tight
8. Loud Places (featuring Romy)
9. I Know There’s Gonna Be (Good Times) (featuring Young Thug & Popcaan)
10. The Rest Is Noise
11. Girl

Speaking of Four Tet and Jamie xx, the pair have a JOINT Essential Mix being broadcast on BBC Radio One on Saturday night.

Jamie also has a lightweight tune called ‘Alba’ being released on 7″ for Record Store Day.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!