Now Reading
Listen to Louth composer Breifne Holohan’s calming debut Eastern Passages

Listen to Louth composer Breifne Holohan’s calming debut Eastern Passages


Eastern Passages might last for a relatively short time of 30+ minutes but the impression of calm it inspires sustains for far longer than its running time.

The debut mini album from Drogheda musician and composer Breifne Holohan, Eastern Passages is a minimal album consisting of four tracks featuring a palette of cascading electric guitar and electroacoustic string arrangements. Relying on overlapping, arpeggiated notes; the music travels slowly and calmly, impressing the listener with the same qualities.

Holohan, a member of the Irish Composers’ Collective and the Collaborative Artists Company as well as a graduate of Dundalk Institute of Technology with a B.A. in Applied Music, doesn’t burden the songs with too much instrumentation, allowing the songs to breathe and focus in and out naturally.

The album is available on Bandcamp.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!