Now Reading
New releases roundup: PJ Harvey, Little Dragon, Julie Byrne, ANOHNI, Gabriels & more

New releases roundup: PJ Harvey, Little Dragon, Julie Byrne, ANOHNI, Gabriels & more

Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

PJ Harvey – I Inside the Old Year Dying

The tenth studio album from PJ, her first since 2016’s The Hope Six Demolition Project, made with her long-standing team of John Parish and Flood and strips back her sound into sonic scapes and vocals with the lyrical source being 12 poems taken from her book of poetry, Orlam, released earlier this year. ‘Lwnsome Tonight’

Little Dragon – Slugs Of Love

Swedish band’s latest album features guest appearances from Damon Albarn and JID across 11 tracks that explore the band’s distinctive blend of soulful pop, electronics and R&B as you’d expect.  ‘Tumbling Dice’

Julie Byrne – The Greater Wings

The American songwriter’s  first record in over six years was partly written in Portugal on an artist resident. It is her debut with Ghostly. Byrne plays Irish gigs this November. ‘Summer Glass’

ANOHNI and the Johnsons – My Back Was A Bridge For You To Cross

Following the recent Blacklips Bar compilation tracing the origins of queer music, performance, and drag in early 90s NYC, the British-born, New York-based ANOHNI releases her first album with The Johnsons in a decade, and an ode to the band’s namesake, drag queen and gay liberation revolutionary Marsha P. Johnson. ‘Sliver Of Ice’

The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs of Nick Drake

The Endless Coloured Ways is a collection of songs by legendary folk singer/songwriter Nick Drake, performed and recorded by over 30 artists from a range of different backgrounds, genres, age groups and audiences. Features Fontaines D.C., John Parish, Aldous Harding, Let’s Eat Grandma, David Gray, Skullcrusher, John Grant and more. Spindizzy.

Gabriels – Kings & Queens

The trio’s debut album works with soul, gospel and more, powered by the big vocal performance from frontman Jacob Lusk. This is part two of the album after part one was released last year and it’s packaged as a deluxe release so part two kicks off with Live at Glastonbury tracks.

Local Natives – Time Will Wait For No One

LA indie band release their fifth album. ‘Empty Mansions’

Anna’s Anchor – The Merries

Limerick indie-pop artist Marty Ryan’s fourth album on Strange Brew Records. ‘Hotel Dom Pancho’

Dominic Fike – Sunburn

Second studio album from yer man out of Euphoria. Title track.

Aluna – MYCELiUM

Aluna (ex of AlunaGeorge), and recent Skrillex collaborator releases second solo album on Mad Decent and Because Music. ‘Running Blind’

Grouplove – I Want It All Right Now

American indie rock band’s latest on Glassnote. ‘Eyes’

Gus Dapperton – Henge

NY alt-pop artist’s third album. ‘Homebody’

Wham! – The Singles: Echoes from the Edge of Heaven

Basically a reminder to go watch the Wham! film on Netflix this week.

Taylor Swift – Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)

The 22 track album of new recordings is the third instalment of Taylor’s Version albums. Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) includes six never before released songs, including ‘Castles Crumbling’ featuring Hayley Williams, ‘Electric Touch’featuring Fall Out Boy and ‘I Can See You’.

African Head Charge – A Trip To Bolgatanga

Long-running studio and live collaboration between Jamaican percussionist Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah and English dub producer Adrian Sherwood with revolving players release first album in 10 years.

Killing Eve’r – Ode To The Lovers

A special vinyl release of the Unloved tracks featured across all four seasons of Killing Eve on via Heavenly Recordings. Bandcamp.

Conway The Machine – Presents: Drumwork The Album

13 track album stacked with guests and a tune called ‘Andre 3000’ from the Buffalo rapper.

F!ONN – A Mentler’s Memoir

Irish bedroom singer-producer is “reclaiming anxiety and Autism spectrum disorder” through sardonic synthpop bangers.” Spotify

Colin O’Shea – Bright Yellow Shiny Gold

Dublin-based singer-songwriter’s second album was produced by the David Prendergast (Overheard the Albatross, Kodaline) and has of pop/rock-centered sound. More.

EP & 12″ Releases

Poser – For Those Before EP

Irish producer releases four-track collection of electronic tracks. Spotify. More on Poser.

Ian Nyquist – Thiar EP

A collage of field recordings and music from an artist residency on the island of Inis Oírr earlier this year. As well as the music from his time on the island, this EP also features archival recordings of keening, sean-nós singing, and poetry. Bandcamp.

Moin – Clocked Off

London experimental trio Moin return to the AD 93 label. “Outsider jams that rolled out of the studio.” Bandcamp.

The Swedish Railway Orchestra – Connotations EP

6-track all-instrumental electro EP from Dublni producer Rob Smith that operates like one long track split in sections. Bandcamp.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!