Now Reading
Review: Leo Drezden – Multi-Moment

Review: Leo Drezden – Multi-Moment


Leo Drezden’s debut album Multi-Moment is a colourful ride through post-rock, electronic, jazz and prog. Steve McKinney, Chris Con, Dan Le Bolloc’h and Rian Trench’s multifarious genre leanings together produce a varied album of music. Primarily, its thrust is of a post-rock vein, with instrumental twists and turns dominating over traditional song structures.

The work of Trench, as one half of Solar Bears and a superior producer is indelibly felt through, so much so that some of it sounds like a jazz-educated post-rock band performing Solar Bears covers. That does show how much of an imprint Trench makes on Solar Bears’ music.

The album is well-titled, as its overall impression leaves passages of memorable music. ‘Slave Lake’ is a celestial interstitial that leaves a mark, ‘Black Palace’ takes flight into a analog prog-noodle pleasantry and elsewhere the octane rock breakdown of ‘Quest’, the percussive outro of ‘Green Fire Magic’ and the psychedelic closer ‘We Found Her Lying There’ stay with a listener.

Generally, the post-rock tendencies are ever-present, though an unfurling of notes and interplay help lift the song which are often whizzing by without a need to stop, save for a resolved end chord. Such pauses are shortlived.

And like their local brethren Alarmist, the band are excellent players, and such skills matter when so much detail is crammed into each track.

Buy the album from Bandcamp.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!