Now Reading
Watch the trailer for an upcoming documentary on Norwegian disco

Watch the trailer for an upcoming documentary on Norwegian disco


Norway is a surprising hotbed of electronic disco talent with the likes of Prins Thomas, Lindstrom and Todd Terje among the names often cited as leading lights of their home country.

Northern Disco Lights is a documentary film coming on April 29th that tells the story of how that happened starting with a group of teenagers in Tromsø who out of boredom and isolation started a music scene, set up radio stations, parties, built synths and made music that spread all over the world.

It features 67 contributing interviewees including Bryan Ferry, Bjørn Torske, Prins Thomas, DJ Strangefuit, Nemone (BBC 6 Music), Mental Overdrive, Idjut Boys, Lindstrøm, Bill Brewster and many more.

Paper Recordings (the label behind the film) will release the soundtrack of the film covering the most seminal tracks from the scene from the scene wihle Lindstrøm’s Closing Shot will feature on a 7″ for Record Store Day, backed with Erot’s ‘Song For Annie’. Erot tragically died at the age of 23 and this tune was instrumental in the Norwegian disco scene.

Northern Disco Lights – Soundtrack

Lindstrøm – Closing Shot (Original Mix)
Biosphere – Novelty Waves (Original Mix)
Doc L Junior – Sentimental Breakdown (Original Mix)
Rune Lindbaek – Ok, Kjor Romskip (Original Mix)
Bjørn Torske – Gullfjellet (Original Mix)
Erot – Song for Annie (Original Mix)
Mungolian Jetset – Moon Jocks Prog Rocks (Todd Terje’s Schlong Tong Vocal Version)
Mungolian Jetset – Quintessential Trip To Bergen (Original Mix)
The Torske / Mundal Explosion – In Disco (Original Mix)
Rune Lindbaek – Junta Jaegar (Original Mix)
Those Norwegians – Kakao (Original Mix)
Ralph Myerz & The Jack Herren Band – Think Twice (Original Mix)
Blackbelt Andersen – Sandoz (Original Mix)
Doc L Junior – Twilight (Original Mix)
Lindstrøm – I Feel Space (Original Mix)
Prins Thomas – Fehrara (Original Mix)
Lindstrøm & Prins Thomas – Boney M Down (Original Mix)
Lindstrøm – Rà-àkõ-st (Todd Terje Extended Edit) (Original Mix)
Bjørn Torske – Møljekalas (Original Mix)
André Bratten – Be A Man You Ant (Original Mix)
Diskobeistet – Birkelunden (Original Mix)