Now Reading
Alaska in Winter (featuring Beirut)

Alaska in Winter (featuring Beirut)


Alaska in Winter

You’ve got to admire Milan Records PR team who are capitalising on Beirut blog buzz to get this record by Alaska in Winter noticed. Entitled Dance Party in the Balkans it does indeed feature the talents of Zach Condon on trumpet and vocals on five songs. The result is a debut album from Brandon Bethancourt who spent time recording music in an isolated cabin on the south coast of Alaska, hence the name.

With the help of Condon, Heather Trost of A Hawk And A Hacksaw and other friends he recorded additional parts in New Mexico. The result is a mix of electronica and Balkan folk which falls somewhere between Condon’s own projects Beirut and The Joys of Losing Weight. Sample a mix of tunes from the record below. Tracklisting after the jump.

Alaska in Winter sampler




1. The Homeless and the Hummingbirds (feat. Zach Condon on trumpet)
2. Your Red Dress (Wedding Song at Cemetery) (feat. Zach Condon on trumpet)
3. The Beautiful Burial Flowers We Will Never See (feat. Zach Condon on trumpet)
4. Balkan Lowrider Anthem
5. Lovely Lovely Love
6. Twenty Four Hours in Lake of Ice
7. Dance Party in the Balkans
8. Harmonijak (feat. Zach Condon on trumpet)
9. Staring at the Sun
10. Horsey Horse [Remix Version]
11. Rain on Every Weekend [Remix Version]
12. Don’t Read Dostoyevsky
13. Close Your Eyes-We Are Blind (feat. Zach Condon on vocals & ukulele)
14. A Love Note From Your Piano [Bonus Track]

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!

View Comments (2)

Comments are closed