, Angel Olsen releases dreamy 80s synth anthem ‘All Mirrors’ & details of new album Angel Olsen releases dreamy 80s synth anthem 'All Mirrors' & details of new album | Nialler9
Now Reading
Angel Olsen releases dreamy 80s synth anthem ‘All Mirrors’ & details of new album

Angel Olsen returns with new single ‘All Mirrors’ and a music video to accompany it.

This is the first solo material we’ve heard from Olsen since the outtakes and rarities compilation Phases in 2017. In the meantime, she has been collaborating with the likes of Jim James (My Morning Jacket) and Sonny Smith (‘Burnin Up‘).

More recently, Mark Ronson joined forces with the American singer on ‘True Blue’ from his Late Night Feelings LP.


‘All Mirrors’ features some wavey synth lines and nostalgic 80s bridges. However, it’s Olsen’s harrowing lyrics and chilling vocals that have us really excited for the new album. The striking lighting and choreography in the music video really help build upon the emotional intensity presented in the music.

“I chose this one as the title because I liked the theme: the theme of how we are all mirrors to and for each other,” said Olsen of the track. “Even if that is not all of it, there is always an element of projection in what we’d like to see in people and scenarios and in the way we see ourselves in those scenarios, with those people.”​

The new album, All Mirrors, will be out on October 4th. Olson is also due to set out on a North American tour. Fans will be delighted, it’s her first full-band tour in a number of years. The album was intially envisoned as a dual record release – a set of full band songs and rawer solo versions to be released together. The former was recorded with producer Michael Harris and the latter was recorded with with producer John Congleton along with arranger Jherek Bischoff, multi-instrumentalist/ arranger/pre-producer Ben Babbitt, and a 14-piece orchestra.

Olsen soon sided with the latter version:

“It was impossible for me to deny how powerful and surprising the songs had become. The truth is that I may have never allowed this much sonic change in the first place had I not already made an account of the same songs in their purest form.”​

Fingers crossed for an Irish date.

All Mirrors Tracklist:

1. Lark
2. All Mirrors
3. Too Easy
4. New Love Cassette
5. Spring
6. What It Is
7. Impasse
8. Tonight
9. Summer
10. Endgame
11. Chance

Angel Olsen Tour Dates:

Mon. Oct. 28 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom &
Wed. Oct. 30 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes *
Thu. Oct. 31 – Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall *
Fri. Nov. 1 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre *
Mon. Nov. 4 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse *
Tue. Nov. 5 – New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre *
Thu. Nov. 7 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s (Levitation) *
Fri. Nov. 8 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater *
Sat. Nov. 9 – Oklahoma City, OK @ The Criterion *
Sun. Nov. 10 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada *
Tue. Nov. 12 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue *
Wed. Nov. 13 – Madison, WI @ The Sylvee *
Thu. Nov. 14 – Chicago, IL @ The Riviera Theatre *
Fri. Nov. 15 – Detroit, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre *
Sat. Nov. 16 – Toronto, ON @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre *
Mon. Nov. 18 – Montreal, QC @ mTelus *
Tue. Nov. 19 – Boston, MA @ Royale *
Fri. Nov. 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Sat. Nov. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel ^
Mon. Dec. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Van Buren *
Tue. Dec. 3 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park *
Thu. Dec. 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Palace Theater *
Fri. Dec. 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Palace Theater #
Sat. Dec. 7 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater *
Mon. Dec. 9 – Portland, OR @ Roseland *
Tue. Dec. 10 – Vancouver, BC @ The Orpheum Theatre *
Wed. Dec. 11 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre *
Fri. Dec. 13 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot *
Sat. Dec. 14 – Denver, CO @ The Gothic Theatre *
Sun. Dec. 15 – Denver, CO @ The Gothic Theatre *
Thu. Jan. 23 – Lisbon, PT – ZDB @ Capitólio
Fri. Jan. 24 – Porto, PT @ Hard Club
Sat. Jan. 25 – Madrid, ES @ Sala BUT
Sat. Jan. 26 – Barcelona, ES @ Sala Razzmatazz
Tue. Jan. 28 – Geneva, CH @ Festival Antigel
Wed. Jan. 29 – Munich, DE @ Kammerspiele
Thu. Jan. 30 – Berlin, DE @ Huxleys Neue Welt
Fri. Jan. 31 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Sat. Feb. 1 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller
Mon. Feb. 3 – Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Tue. Feb. 4 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. Feb. 5 – Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan
Thu. Feb. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Fri. Feb. 7 – Antwerp, BE @ De Roma
Sat. Feb. 8 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
Mon. Feb. 10 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
Tue. Feb. 11 – London, UK @ Eventim Apollo
Thu. Feb. 13 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz
Fri. Feb. 14 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowland Ballroom
* = w/ Vagabon
^ = w/ Madi Diaz
#= w/ Rodrigo Amarante
&= w/ Lean Year

Nialler9 has a favour to ask