Danger Doom’s The Mouse and The Mask, the 2005 collaborative album between MF Doom and producer Danger Mouse is getting a reissue in a 3-LP deluxe format.

I wrote about it 11 years ago. I’m old.

The original album was a successful collaboration which weaved interludes and inspiration from Adult Swim TV show characters like Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Space Ghost, Harvey Birdman. Guests included Talib Kweli, Ghostface Killah, and Cee Lo Green.

The 3xLP vinyl remastered reissue courtesy of DOOM’s own label METALFACE Records has extra tracks and comes with the previously digital-only Occult Hymn EP and two more tracks, ‘Mad Nice’ featuring The Roots’ Black Thought & Vinny Price, one of which you can hear below.

Order it outside the US here but expect to pay customs on it.

Posted on April 11th, 2017

Artists: , , , , ,

Update: with early birds now sold out, day tickets priced at €79.50 + fee have been brought forward and will be on sale tomorrow at 9am from Ticketmaster. Also announced is that Saturday headliners are The Roots and Sunday is Chic.

Metropolis Festival is a new event happening in the RDS in Dublin on 7th and 8th of November put on by Pod and Hidden Agenda that comes with the tagline “Music / Performance / Conversation / Installation.”

The music lineup is damn impressive:
CHIC Feat Nile Rodgers
The Roots
Mark Ronson (DJ set)
Jamie xx
Giorgio Moroder
Todd Terje
Jeff Mills
Tiga (Live)
Kerri Chandler
Dorian Concept (Live)
Matthew Herbert (Live)
Maribou State (Live)
Nosaj Thing (Live)
Kormac’s Big Band
Cloud Castle Lake

Metropolis promises six rooms, all indoors with music, conversations and installations curated by This Greedy Pig.

Early bird weekend tickets on sale at 9am this Friday 24th July at €99.50 inc booking fee, through Ticketmaster and usual outlets. Tickets will rise to €145.50+ fees in three phases:

Early bird – Phase One: €99.50
Early bird – Phase Two: €119.50
Early bird – Phase Three: €129.50
Full price: €145.50

Facebook Event

Metropolis Festival 2015, November 7th & 8th, Tickets go on sale via Ticketmaster Ireland, 9am Friday July 24th.http://metropolisfestival.ie/

Posted by Metropolis Festival on Wednesday, 22 July 2015

Posted on July 28th, 2015


Artists: , , , ,

Tracks of the Week playlist

1. Adebisi Shank – ‘Big Unit’

“It’s the sound of the Berlin Wall falling down. It’s the sound of hashtag winning.” And so, Adebisi Shank returns with more bonkers frazzled epic electro rock that sounds like a particularly jaunty parade march in the year 3032. Their third album This Is The Third Album Of A Band Called Adebisi Shank is out August 12th on Sargent House.

2. Shamir – ‘Sometimes a Man’

From the Vegas 19 year-old’s excellent debut EP, Northtown out now on Godmode. A ruff-housing disco shaker.

3. SBTRKT – ‘Temporary View’ ft. Sampha

‘Temporary View’ is a reworking of ‘Resolute’, the instrumental released on SBTRKT’s recent Transitions EP, now sounding fully-formed with the dulcet presence of Sampha.

4. Klo – ‘Make Me Wonder’

The debut track from the Melbourne duo Chloe Kaul and Simon Lam was released in March. It’s a free download from Facebook.

5. Daithí Feat. Senita -’ Golden Blush’

From Daithí’s new album, In Flight, an album that deserves to do really well in Ireland on radio. Surely, the next single featuring Danny from The Coronas will do it? As it is, this is superior club pop on anyone’s terms.

6. UNKNWN – ‘Devil’

A shuffling atmospheric garage-house groover from the Belfast duo.

7. Dear Desert – ‘Give It Up’

Dear Desert are a brand new Irish band, based in Dublin consisting of Brendan Millar (Futures Apart), Richie Fenton and James O’Donnell (Hush War Cry). Judging by their debut track, the ‘Give It Up’, this is a trio steeped in heart-on-sleeve ’80s pop.

8. Azoto – ‘San Salvador’

As heard on White Collar Boy’s World Cup-themed mix to promote their new club nigiht in the Grand Social this Saturday,

9. Róisín Murphy – In Sintesi (Psychemagik Remix)

A fine disco reworking of the original track from Ms. Murphy’s recent Italian pop covers EP.

10. The Roots – ‘Never feat. Patty Crash’

My standout track from the new album from Jimmy Fallon’s house band, …And Then You Shoot Your Cousin, their eleventh studio album.

Posted on June 13th, 2014


Artists: , , , , , ,

Electric Picnic

Electric Picnic announced its initial lineup for 2012 today for Friday 31st August to Sunday 2nd September in Stradbally Hall, Co. Laois.

Update: Bat For Lashes, Tindersticks and The Killers (Sunday) were added overnight.

The Cure, Sigur Rós, Elbow, Grizzly Bear, Orbital, Christy Moore, The Roots, Hot Chip, Glen Hansard, The xx, Metronomy, The Horrors, Azealia Banks, Roots Manuva, Bell X1, Staff Benda Bilili, Milagres, Ed Sheeran, Alabama Shakes, Cranes, Little Roy, John Digweed, Land Lovers, Baxter Dury, Jonathan Wilson, Solar Bears, Fatoumata Diawara, Willis Earl Beal, Lanterns On The Lake.

Tickets for the weekend are €230 plus fees on sale tomorrow morning at 9am. Full info below.

Posted on March 1st, 2012


Artists: , , , , , ,

Another tip featured back in April, Mayer Hawthorne is due to release his album A Strange Arrangement in September on Stones Throw. The video for ‘Maybe So, Maybe No’ is a straight-up U.S. of A skate and sunshine jam.

Stones Throw also gave away an album track from the album which is pretty much a solid modern soul and R&B album albeit from a bespeckled cardigan-wearing white boy. Not many of those get to play with The Roots though. I’m going to need this album on vinyl.

MP3: Mayer Hawthorne – Your Easy Lovin’ Ain’t Pleasin’ Nothin’

Posted on August 10th, 2009


Artists: ,

The Beasties were on Jimmy Fallon last night and performed Check Your Head cut ‘So Whatcha Want’ backed by the coolest-house-band-ever The Roots.

Wow, Fallon looks a little uncomfortable. Yesterday, the band announced via their mailing list that the new album was to be titled Hot Sauce Committee and they told Fallon it’s due out in September. Possible guests include Santigold.

Posted on May 26th, 2009


Artists: ,