Now Reading
The top 10 tracks of the week

The top 10 tracks of the week


Tracks of the Week playlist

1. Adebisi Shank – ‘Big Unit’

“It’s the sound of the Berlin Wall falling down. It’s the sound of hashtag winning.” And so, Adebisi Shank returns with more bonkers frazzled epic electro rock that sounds like a particularly jaunty parade march in the year 3032. Their third album This Is The Third Album Of A Band Called Adebisi Shank is out August 12th on Sargent House.

2. Shamir – ‘Sometimes a Man’

From the Vegas 19 year-old’s excellent debut EP, Northtown out now on Godmode. A ruff-housing disco shaker.

3. SBTRKT – ‘Temporary View’ ft. Sampha

‘Temporary View’ is a reworking of ‘Resolute’, the instrumental released on SBTRKT’s recent Transitions EP, now sounding fully-formed with the dulcet presence of Sampha.

4. Klo – ‘Make Me Wonder’

The debut track from the Melbourne duo Chloe Kaul and Simon Lam was released in March. It’s a free download from Facebook.

5. Daithí Feat. Senita -’ Golden Blush’

From Daithí’s new album, In Flight, an album that deserves to do really well in Ireland on radio. Surely, the next single featuring Danny from The Coronas will do it? As it is, this is superior club pop on anyone’s terms.

6. UNKNWN – ‘Devil’

A shuffling atmospheric garage-house groover from the Belfast duo.

7. Dear Desert – ‘Give It Up’

Dear Desert are a brand new Irish band, based in Dublin consisting of Brendan Millar (Futures Apart), Richie Fenton and James O’Donnell (Hush War Cry). Judging by their debut track, the ‘Give It Up’, this is a trio steeped in heart-on-sleeve ’80s pop.

8. Azoto – ‘San Salvador’

As heard on White Collar Boy’s World Cup-themed mix to promote their new club nigiht in the Grand Social this Saturday,

9. Róisín Murphy – In Sintesi (Psychemagik Remix)

A fine disco reworking of the original track from Ms. Murphy’s recent Italian pop covers EP.

10. The Roots – ‘Never feat. Patty Crash’

My standout track from the new album from Jimmy Fallon’s house band, …And Then You Shoot Your Cousin, their eleventh studio album.