Now Reading
Björk’s new album features a little-known Irish producer

Björk’s new album features a little-known Irish producer


Yesterday, Björk announced her new album Vulnicura for a March release with a short handwritten note that announced the release with some small details including that two of the songs were co-written with the Venezuelan producer Arca and one by The Haxan Cloak alongside Arca.

The name John Flynn also appears as a cowrite on one of the tracks, which is cool and odd because Mr Flynn is a little-known Irish producer who operates under the name Spaces, who was formerly a part of Alphabet Set act Solen (who did a great Wu Tang / Autechre mix years back). He helped out with the album’s last track ‘Quicksand’.

Quite how the musician with a scant number of tracks and gigs ended up on the new Björk album isn’t quite clear but it was suggested to me by Kaboogie’s Sixfoot Apprentice that it may have come about from the lady listening to Spaces‘ recent release on Bleep which has ties to Warp Records of course.

Either way, that’s a cool and random Irish music related bit of trivia.

6 songs written by björk, 2 songs co-written with arca, 1 with john flynn
string arrangements by björk
6 songs produced by björk & arca, 1 by björk & arca & the haxan cloak, 2 by björk
mixed by the haxan cloak except 2 songs mixed by the haxan cloak and chris elms
mastered by mandy parnell

Vulnicura Tracklist

1 ‘Stonemilker’
2 ‘Lionsong’
3 ‘History Of Touches’
4 ‘Black Lake’
5 ‘Family’
6 ‘Notget’
7 ‘Atom Dance’
8 ‘Mouth Mantra’
9 ‘Quicksand’

Here’s the recent Spaces EP:


Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!