Now Reading
Blur announce surprise new album The Ballad of Darren; hear ‘The Narcissist’

Blur announce surprise new album The Ballad of Darren; hear ‘The Narcissist’

If you were wondering whether all these Blur gigs in the UK and Ireland were leading to some new music then wonder no more.

Blur have announced that their first album in 8 years The Ballad of Darren is out  July 21st on Parlophone. First track ‘The Narcissist’ is below.

Their ninth album was produced by James Ford and recorded at Studio 13, London and Devon. It’s their first album since The Magic Whip in 2015 Artwork featuring an image by British photographer Martin Parr, and is below.

Blur also announced some warmup shows in the place they did their first ever gig in Essex – at Colchester Arts Centre this Friday May 19th, marking the start of a short run of warm-up performances which will see the bamd visit Eastbourne Winter Gardens on 21st May, The Halls Wolverhampton on 26th May and O2 City Hall Newcastle on 28th May.

Damon Albarn said -“This is an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.”

Graham Coxon said – The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job.”

Alex James said – For any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.”

Dave Rowntree said – “It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted.”

The Ballad of Darren tracklist

  1. The Ballad
  2. St Charles Square
  3. Barbaric
  4. Russian Strings
  5. The Everglades (For Leonard)
  6. The Narcissist
  7. Goodbye Albert
  8. Far Away Island
  9. Avalon
  10. The Heights

The Ballad of Darren will be available as a Digital Download & Stream (10 tracks as above); Standard CD (10 tracks) and Deluxe CD (12 tracks, w. expanded packaging), Standard Vinyl LP – 12” heavyweight black vinyl; and – exclusive to – Deluxe Vinyl pressed on 12″ clear vinyl with black swirls, in a gatefold sleeve, with poster, bonus 7” vinyl, album CD (12 tracks) and integrated booklet, including exclusive handwritten notes, sketches and lyrics; and Cassette (10 tracks).

Pre order The Ballad of Darren here.