Now Reading
David Holmes to release first solo album in 15 years – Blind On A Galloping Horse

David Holmes to release first solo album in 15 years – Blind On A Galloping Horse

David Holmes has announced details of his first solo album since 2008’s The Holy Pictures.

Blind On A Galloping Horse is to be released on November 10th on Heavenly Recordings, and is a 14-track “interrogation of the last decade, time spent watching a decaying, fraying Britain visibly buckling in real time while tending to his own battles with mental health.”

“Love songs to leap the barricades to,” is how it’s also pitched.

It features the voice of Raven Violet, a recent frequent collaborator, and uses analogue drum machines and synths in its sound. Spoken word accounts from Afghan and Ukrainian refugees who now reside in Belfast, a Palestinian ambulance driver, French and Irish observers of the UK’s recent political upheaval also weigh in.

Blind On A Galloping Horse was written, produced and arranged by David Holmes. The album features updated versions of the previously released singles ‘Hope Is The Last Thing To Die’ and ‘It’s Over If We Run Out Of Love’ and a recording of an unreleased song by Holmes’ late friend Andrew Weatherall (‘I Laugh Myself To Sleep’).

First single ‘Necessary Genius’, is “a comprehensive roll call of the great and good – those ‘dreamers, misfits, radicals, outcasts’ that we’ve lost and just a few who’ve managed to cling on in the churn of the 21st century.”

The artwork for the single features Sinead O’Connor. Holmes was working on a record with Sinead O’Connor before her passing.

Blind On A Galloping Horse artwork & tracklisting:

All of the album’s artwork was designed by British graphic designer Jimmy Turrell. The cover shot above was taken post riot in 70’s Belfast by local cult street photographer Bill Kirk.

1. When People Are Occupied Resistance Is Justified
2. It’s Over If We Run Out Of Love
3. Emotionally Clear
4. Hope Is The Last Thing To Die
5. You Will Know Me By The Smell Of Onions
6. Necessary Genius
7. Yeah Yeah Yeah
8. I Laugh Myself To Sleep
9. Too Muchroom
10. Agitprop
11. Stop Apologising
12. Tyranny Of The Talentless
13. Love In The Upside Down
14. Blind On A Galloping Horse

Pre-order here

About David Holmes

David Holmes is a Belfast born DJ & producer. In his varied professional life, he has produced five of his own albums and over 30 film soundtracks. Having DJed from the age of 15, David went on to run one of Belfast’s most revered club nights – Sugar Sweet – which brought acid house and rave culture to a city steeped in the Troubles. David has produced Noel Gallagher, Primal Scream, and has remixed the likes of Orbital, Jarvis Cocker, and many more. He has also produced highly acclaimed soundtracks for Steven Soderbergh (on over 10 films), Michael WinterbottomYann Démange and Steve McQueen which have won him multiple awards including one BAFTA and 2 Ivor Novello’s. Recently with his band Unloved, he created and curated the music for the much-lauded BBC series Killing Eve. His round-about selection of cinematic, library music, rock ‘n’ roll, psych, experimental, unclassifiable and independent music under the banner of Gods Waiting Room continues to appear at venues around the world and on a regular slot at NTS radio show.

David Holmes online:
Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | Linktree

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!