Now Reading
Florence + The Machine – ‘Shake It Out’

Florence + The Machine – ‘Shake It Out’

‘Shake It Out’ bodes well for Florence Welch’s forthcoming album Celebrations. Coming after the equally great ‘What The Water Gave Me’, the song showcases an artist who has had access to big label money for her much-anticipated second album and chose to use it to serve the songs rather than hiring David Guetta or something (Paul Epworth produces).

‘Shake It Out’ is a big crashing ballad with a grandiose disposition coming from Florence and backing vocals rather than the instrumentation. Sure, there are big drums and production, but it maintain’s the thing that Florence’s music has always had – heart.

Where the less successful Marina saw the second album as a time to grab a piece of the pie and dumb down in a bid to the top, Florence does no such thing. She sticks to her guns and writes better and bigger songs without sacrificing what made Lungs so appealing.

Florence + The Machine – Shake it Out

Ceremonials is out October 28th through Island records in standard 12-track and 20-track deluxe versions.


1. Only If For A Night
2. Shake It Out
3. What The Water Gave Me
4. Never Let Me Go
5. Breaking Down
6. Lover To Lover
7. No Light, No Light
8. Seven Devils
9. Heartlines
10. Spectrum
11. All This And Heaven Too
12. Leave My Body

‘Ceremonials’ Deluxe additional:
13. Remain Nameless
14. Strangeness & Charm
15. Bedroom Hymns
16. What The Water Gave Me (demo)
17. Landscape (demo)
18. Heartlines (acoustic)
19. Shake It Out (acoustic)
20. Breaking Down (acoustic)