Now Reading
Hear the new single from The Gloaming – ‘Fáinleog (Wanderer)’

Hear the new single from The Gloaming – ‘Fáinleog (Wanderer)’

The Gloaming’s second album, simply titled The Gloaming 2 will be released on February 26th on Real World Records.

The contemporary trad supergroup, fiddlers Martin Hayes and Caoimhin Ó Raghallaigh, sean-nós singer Iarla Ó Lionáird, pianist Thomas Bartlett (Doveman), and Chicago-born guitarist Dennis Cahill, reconvened in December to record the album and ‘Fáinleog (Wanderer)’, the album’s first sound exemplifies the band’s beatific rich music that crosses the border between Irish trad, contemporary classical and modern spatial textures.

‘Fáinleog (Wanderer)’:

The Gloaming - Fáinleog (Wanderer)

It’s the followup to their Meteor Choice Music Prize winning debut.

Bartlett, with help from Glen Hansard covered David Bowie’s ‘Lazarus’ in tribute to the great man this week:

The Gloaming 2 – Tracklist

1. The Pilgrim’s Song
2. Fáinleog (Wanderer)
3. The Hare
4. Oisin’s Song
5. The Booley House
6. Repeal the Union
7. Casadh an tSúgáin
8. The Rolling Wave
9. Cucanandy
10. Mrs Dwyer
11. Slán le Máighe
12. The Old Favourite

Tour dates

ON TOUR in the United Kingdom/Ireland 2016
26 February London – Union Chapel SOLD OUT
27, 28 February; 1, 2 & 3 March 2016 – Dublin – The National Concert Hall SOLD OUT
21 September Bristol – Colston Hall
22 September London – Royal Festival Hall
23 September Manchester – Bridgewater Hall
24 September Edinburgh – Usher Hall
25 September Birmingham – Symphony Hall
All shows on sale now