Now Reading
Here are the nominees for this year’s Mercury Music Prize 2021

Here are the nominees for this year’s Mercury Music Prize 2021


The shortlist for the annual Mercury Music Prize 2021 has just been announced on Lauren Laverne’s BBC Radio 6 show today and these are the 12 albums nominated.

  • Arlo Parks – ‘Collapsed in Sunbeams’
  • Black Country, New Road – ‘For the first time’
  • Celeste – ‘Not Your Muse’
  • Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – ‘Promises’
  • Ghetts – ‘Conflict of Interest’
  • Hannah Peel – ‘Fir Wave’
  • Laura Mvula – ‘Pink Noise’
  • Mogwai – ‘As the Love Continues’
  • Nubya Garcia – ‘SOURCE’
  • SAULT – ‘Untitled (Rise)’
  • Wolf Alice – ‘Blue Weekend’

First impressions are: great to see Sault, Floating Points / Pharoah Sanders and Ghetts on the list. The Hannah Peel album is great too! Always good to see a long-standing artist like Mogwai feature.

Biggest exclusion? Dry Cleaning (if they entered). No Black Midi either.

The overall winner of the 2021 Hyundai Mercury Prize will be announced on Thursday 9 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

Albums by British artists with a UK release date between 18 July 2020 and 16 July 2021 are eligible for the 2021 Prize, though previous years Irish albums were eligible, though it’s not clear whether there is a change this year to exclude Irish artists.

If they were eligible, you would have expected nods for either Fontaines DC or For Those I Love.

As ever, all nominated albums have to be entered for consideration by the label or artist.

Here are this year’s judges:

Anna Calvi – Musician & Songwriter; 
Annie Mac – Broadcaster & DJ; 
Danielle Perry – Broadcaster & Writer;
 Gemma Cairney – Broadcaster & DJ; 
Hazel Wilde (from Lanterns on the Lake) – Musician & Songwriter; 
Jamie Cullum – Musician & Broadcaster; 
Jeff Smith – Head of Music, 6 Music & Radio 2; 
Michael Kiwanuka – Musician & Songwriter;
 Mike Walsh – Music Consultant; 
Phil Alexander – Creative Director, Kerrang!/Contributing Editor, Mojo;
Tshepo Mokoena – Editorial Director,; 
Will Hodgkinson – Chief Rock & Pop Critic, The Times.

The Chair of the judging panel is Jeff Smith.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!