Now Reading
Irish harmony trio Rufous Nightjar to release debut album this month

Irish harmony trio Rufous Nightjar to release debut album this month


Rufous Nightjar are a three-part harmony trio consisting of Branwen Kavanagh, Anna-Mieke Bishop and Zoé Basha.

The trio will release a debut album on March 29th this month, called Songs for Three Voices.

Rufous Nightjar was formed in 2020 officially, after they travelled across Eastern Europe learning folk songs and developing their harmonies.

Lockdown lead to Branwen Kavanagh composing some a cappella songs “around the themes of mythology, folklore, landscape, loss and the otherworld.”

Branwen then invited Anna-Mieke and Zoé to collaborate on arrangements for an album, aided by artist residencies and a brass ensemble on the songs.

Donal Dineen’s Make Me An Island Podcast interviewed the trio about their origins in 2021.

The album won’t be toured, instead Rufous Nightjar invite listeners to learn and share the songs, which came out of their love of folk and a cappella singing, in the great song tradition.

There will be a limited run of 100 vinyl records of the album produced by the band for sale on Bandcamp.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!