Now Reading
James Blake has a new album Playing Robots with wonky single ‘Big Hammer’

James Blake has a new album Playing Robots with wonky single ‘Big Hammer’


James Blake has announced his sixth studio album with a wonky new electronic track called ‘Big Hammer’ and a video directed by Oscar Hudson (Radiohead, Bonobo).

Playing Robots is to be released on September 8th through Polydor/ Republic records, and if ‘Big Hammer’ is anything to go by, it’s more of a sonically concerned album than the songwriting focus of last album, Friends That Break Your Heart.

It’s a return to the early Jame Blake sound where he released music on labels Hessle, Hemlock and R&S. Blakes CMYK series of events which in the past year has featured guests Steve Lacy, Channel Tres and HAii in LA, will also return to London on July 6th, along with dates at Alexandra Palaceon September 28th and EU and US dates as per below.

‘Big Hammer’ is mostly an instrumental with a jungle MC sample.


See Also

18 SepMilan, ItalyFabrique
21 SepBrussels, BelgiumForest National Club
22 SepParis, FranceL’Olympia
24 SepBerlin, GermanyUFO im Velodrom
26 SepTilburg, NetherlandsO13
28 SepLondon, UKAlexandra Palace
3 OctAtlanta, GA , U.S.Coca Cola Roxy
5 OctQueens, NY, U.S.Knockdown Center
9 OctBoston, MA, U.SMGM Music Hall at Fenway
10 OctMontreal, QC, CanadaL’Olympia
12 OctToronto, ON, CanadaRebel
14 OctChicago, IL, U.S.Aragon Ballroom
16 OctSan Francisco, CA, U.S.The Masonic Theater
19 OctLos Angeles, CA, U.S.Hollywood Forever Cemetery


6 JulyLondon UKHere

Fans who pre-order the album from by 6pm on Monday July 3rd will get access to exclusive ticket pre-sale for James’ Alexandra Palace show on 4th of July ahead of general sale on 7th of July.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!