Now Reading
King Krule announces new album Space Heavy; Listen to ‘Seaforth’

King Krule announces new album Space Heavy; Listen to ‘Seaforth’

King Krule_by_Frank Lebon_2

King Krule has announced a return to releasing records with new album Space Heavy, due out on June 9th on XL Recordings.

Space Heavy is the fourth album from Archy Marshall, coming ten years after his debut 6 Feet Beneath the Moon (2013) which was followed by The Ooz (2017) and Man Alive! (2019). There was also 2015’s A New Place 2 Drown, under his own name, and a live album You Heat Me Up, You Cool Me Down (2021).

The album’s first single ‘Seaforth’ is accompanied by a music video directed by visual artist and prior collaborator Jocelyn Anquetil.

The song is gentle, somnabulist reintroduction to the artist, and the video is largely concerned a father golden retriever and his puppy, with footage on the beach of King Krule and band:

Album Tracklist:
1. Flimsier
2. Pink Shell
3. Seaforth
4. That Is My Life, That Is Yours
5. Tortoise Of Independency
6. Empty Stomach Space Cadet
7. Flimsy
8. Hamburgerphobia
9. From The Swamp
10. Seagirl
11. Our Vacuum
12. Space Heavy
13. When Vanishing
14. If Only It Was Warmth
15. Wednesday Overcast


See Also
Nia Archives

Album Artwork by Jack Marshall.

About King Krule Space Heavy

 Written from 2020 to 2022, between London and Liverpool, Space Heavy took shape over the course of commutes between the two cities where Archy Marshall was splitting his time. Befitting an album quite literally written on the commute between the two places he called home, Archy found himself fascinated by the notion of “the space between” – the space haunted by dreams of love, touching a narrative of lost connection, losing people and situations to the guillotine of the universe. Once written by Archy, the music was developed by frequent collaborator and producer Dilip Harris and long-time band mates Ignacio Salvadores (Saxophonist), George Bass (Drummer), James Wilson (Bass Guitarist) and Jack Towell (Guitarist).
The result is a 15-track full-length by the musical polymath that inhabits the deepest reaches of the subterranean sonic world that Archy has constructed over the course of his career as King Krule. In it you hear a generational artist stepping into the height of their artistic powers – the auteurism apparent on his debut 6 Feet Beneath The Moon here, the shapeshifting sonic palette of The OOZ here, the primality of Man Alive! here and the raw vulnerability expressed on You Heat Me Up, You Cool Me Down here all coalesce into a wizened, dynamic body of work that reveals new elements with each listen. In line with Archy’s interest in the space between, it is an album wherein the negative space demands the same attention as the positive space. If one is willing to wade into the mire the reward is rich.
Space Heavy is now available to pre-save or pre-order on LP (standard and crystal clear) or CD. To celebrate the announcement of the album, King Krule has also released a series of exclusive merchandise including t-shirts, sweatshirts, sliders, and new stock of his previous albums.
Follow King Krule:
Website | Instagram | Facebook | YouTube | Bandcamp

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!