Now Reading
Listen/Download: Mykki Blanco – Cosmic Angel: The Illuminati Prince/ss

Listen/Download: Mykki Blanco – Cosmic Angel: The Illuminati Prince/ss


As was suggested by pre-release tracks ‘Wavvy’ and ‘Haze.Boogie.Life’, Mykki Blanco’s Cosmic Angel: The Illuminati Prince/ss mixtape is aimed more towards a dancefloor than his previous scratchy idiosyncratic sometime-caterwauling releases. The club vibes present on Cosmic Angel are a good look for the New Yorker performer who plays between the lines of gender,  club/electronica, poet/rapping and art project/singer.

His producers across the 15 tracks: Brenmar, Sinden & Matrixmann, Flosstradamus, Gatekeeper and Gobby keep to the dark side of the club palette. So plenty of  chest-rattling bass, darkwave synths and unnerving rhythms. Mykki meanwhile, goes for full chest-pounding bravado raps twisted in weird ways (seemingly including a recording of his first freestyle). Previously unheard highlights: ‘Riot’, ‘Kingpinning’ (you may have heard it last week), ‘YungRhymeAssassin’ and ‘Squanto’.

Free download or listen below…

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!