Now Reading
New albums out today: Mount Kimbie, First Aid Kit, Phoenix, Drake, Daniel Avery, Carla dal Forno, Romare & more

New albums out today: Mount Kimbie, First Aid Kit, Phoenix, Drake, Daniel Avery, Carla dal Forno, Romare & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

Mount Kimbie – MK 3.5: Die Cuts | City Planning

Comprised of two distinct solo albums by Dom Maker and Kai Campos respectively. Dom’s side, Die Cuts is heavy on collabs and features James Blake and Slowthai, Danny Brown, Reggie, Nomi, Keiyaa, Wiki, Liv.e, Kucka and Choker. Kai’s album City Planning is inspired by time DJing and is ““wild, warped and loopy, the album twists avant-garde signifiers from on and off the dancefloor into a deft and refined statement. Its sleek beats and stuttering arpeggios are caked with scuzz and personality, making for an album that’s warm and inviting even at its most confrontational.”

Daniel Avery – Ultra Truth

Collaborators includes Kelly Lee Owens, AK Paul, Sherelle, Marie Davidson and HAAi. “This album is about looking directly into the darkness, not running away from it,” says Avery. “There’s a way through these times but it involves keeping the important people in your life close to you and navigating the noise together. This is an intentionally heavy and dense album, the hooks often hidden in dusty corners. I’m no longer dealing in a misty – eyed euphoria.”

First Aid Kit – Palomino

Swedish folk sisters say “it’s probably our most pop sounding record yet. We took inspiration from all over the place – old acts such as Fleetwood Mac, Carole King, Tom Petty, T Rex, Elton John but also Angel Olsen, Whitney, and Big Thief.”

SAULT – Five albums

In case you missed it, SAULT released five password-protected albums for a limited time this week. Password is godislove, and November 5th is the last day to get them.

Drake, 21 Savage – Her Loss

That title reads as toxic masculinity in a bottle.

Phoenix – Alpha Zulu

French indie pop band return with a reliably enjoyable album. Title track.

Ezra Collective – Where I’m Meant To Be

London hybrid jazz band’s new album features Sampa The Great, Kojey Radical, Emile Sandé, Steve McQueen, and Nao.

Special Interest – Endure

New Orleans band who make glam punk disco pop rock on Rough Trade. ‘Midnight Request’

Sigrid – How To Let Go Special Edition

Acoustic version of the album from the Norwegian pop artist.

Baby Keem – Melodic Blue (Deluxe)

2-disc 26-track extended version of last year’s debut from Kendrick’s cousin.

Carla dal Forno – Come Around

The cool crew’s favourite underground songwriter returns for a third album of DIY gossamer alt-pop. Bandcamp.

Anna of the North – Crazy Life

Norwegian pop artist returns with third album. ‘Nobody’

Old Fire – Voids

Texas composer and artist Old Fire’s new one on Western Vinyl features Bill Callahan, Julia Holter, Adam Torres, Emily Cross and more. Bandcamp.

Variant Sea – Journey

Dublin/Reykjavik based ambient-post rock duo comprising pianist Luke Duffy and
guitarist Shell Dooley release their debut album. ‘Season Of Mists’.

Wornoc – Motionless

Dublin based artist Conor Walsh’s debut album of post-rock/electronica is inspired by God Is An Astronaut, Massive Attack and Bonobo. See more.

Kornél Kovács – 𝓗𝓸𝓽𝓮𝓵 𝓚𝓸𝓴𝓸

Studio Barnhus boss releases third album of electronic tracks featuring Aluna. Bandcamp.

Laurie Shaw – Sceptre

Sceptre is the prolific Cork-based artist Laurie Shaw’s seventh and final album of 2022. Bandcamp.

Connie Constance – Miss Power

The Watford singer-songwriter’s second album. ‘Till The World’s Awake’

Lee Fields – Sentimental Fool

Soul legend Lee Fields’ first new album in three years on Daptone.


A new 6LP / 3CD boxset collection. Yowza.

See Also

Tom Skinner – Voices Of Bashara

Drummer, composer, and producer Tom Skinner who is the drummer for The Smile and Sons of Kemet.

R.A.P. Ferreira – 5 To The Eye With Stars

Nashville rapper is one of those to check in with regularly. Bandcamp.

Okay Kaya – SAP

This is a concept album about consciousness in which New York alternative artist Okay Kaya “focuses her combination of abstraction and wit on what happens to her mind unaccompanied, on her tendency to feel less like a human and more like the sticky secretion of a tree”. Yup.

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By

19 original tracks and over 40 international artists including Rihanna, Tems, Fireboy DML, OG DAYV Ft. Future, CKay Ft. PinkPantheress, E-40.

Romare – Fantasy

Fantasy takes a more abstract approach to sampling than the producer’s previous work, bringing his own instrumentation and vocals to the fore, while folding elements from fantasy cinema into his distinctive strain of rhythmic, off-centre electronica and kinetic club music. Bandcamp.

Big Joanie – Back Home

Black feminist punk trio from London release their second album. ‘Your Words’.

Bishop Nehru – Chulo

New York rapper’s new 20-track album.

Boldy James & Futurewave – Mr. Ten08

Detroit Mc joins the Toronto producer Futurewave to make a collab album.

µ-Ziq – Hello

Planet Mu owner Mike Paradinas wraps up 2022 with his 3rd release of new material this year.

CS & Kreme – Orange

Melbourne electronic duo dealing in ambient, dub and contemporary sounds. Bandcamp.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!