Now Reading
Róisín Murphy to release EP of Italian pop hits

Róisín Murphy to release EP of Italian pop hits


Róisín Murphy has announced she will release the Mi Senti EP on May 28th, a six-track collection of Italian pop songs, including five covers of classic pop hits from Italian singers and songwriters, and one original.

It was recorded in London and Ibiza with producer Eddy Stevens and it’s likely that her partner, Sebastiano Properzi encouraged her. Unfortunately, it’s not all Italo tracks but songs from the ’60s and ’70s – Mina (‘Ancora Ancora Ancora’ and ‘Non Credere’), Patty Pravo (‘Pensiero Stupendo’), Lucio Battisti (‘Acora Tu’) and Gino Paoli (‘La Gatta’).

“Quite apart from the language, in some of the songs I was on the edge of what my voice can do. For the Mina ones in particular [‘Ancora Ancora Ancora’ and ‘Non Credere’] there were tears and I almost walked away and gave up.”

Mi Senti will be be released as a digital download, and limited edition gatefold vinyl. As far as I know, it is not an April Fool’s Joke.

In other good news, Murphy is currently working on her new solo album.