Now Reading
Solar Bears announce closure of project with one last track ‘Across Yesteryear’

Solar Bears announce closure of project with one last track ‘Across Yesteryear’


John Kowalski and Rian Trench confirmed yesterday that the Solar Bears project has come to an end.

After three albums of cinematic electronic music over three albums, 2010’s She Was Coloured In, 2013’s Supermigration and 2015’s Advancement, the band have called it a day with a final wistful track ‘Across Yesteryear’ which feels like a finality.

“We have decided to call it a day after 8 years together,” they told Thump. “Thank you to everyone that listened and came to see us play. Major love to Planet Mu, Sunday Best and Littlebig for believing in us.”

Their bucolic music was filled with Boards Of Canada-style electronic ambience, krautrock, library music, psychedelia and tough synthesizers. I think they were one of the best Irish bands of the last ten years.

Here is a selection of some of my favourite Solar Bears tunes and a recent live mix that was tough as boots. Best of luck to the guys in future projects whether it’s music, production, art or otherwise.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!

View Comment (1)

Comments are closed