Now Reading
A Litany of Failures Volume 4: 22-track Irish vinyl compilation series released

A Litany of Failures Volume 4: 22-track Irish vinyl compilation series released


A Litany of Failures has announced the fourth volume of its independent Irish compilation series, intended to document the independent music community in Ireland.

The fourth entry in the series is now released with 22-tracks on double vinyl and digitally as of today, September 8th 2023.

Bands and artists who have contributed to Volume 4 include M(h)aol, Elaine Howley, Trá Pháidín, Elaine Malone’s Mantua, Junior Brother, Shrug Life’s Danny Carroll, Laurie Shaw, Icebear, This Ship Argo, Jinx Lennon & Baby Nits, Search ResultsBog Band, Myles ManleyNaoise RooJunk Drawer and So Cow.

Artwork is by Pipe & Pallet, and a select number of pre-orders will feature a bespoke print from Belfast-based artist Phantom Powered Pixels

Order on vinyl & digital on Bandcamp.

See also: Listen to volume 3 of A Litany of Failures feat. Silverbacks, Junk Drawer, Post Punk Podge, The Bonk, Problem Patterns, Careerist, Rising Damp & many more

A Litany of Failures: Volume IV tracklist


M(h)aol – Jack Douglas *[Vinyl Exclusive]

Junk Drawer – Nids Niteca 

Laurie Shaw – The Reunion

Elaine Howley – I Imagine You’d Say That

Icebear – Hana’s House

Licehead – (A) Purple (B)rain


Jinx Lennon feat. Baby Nits – Fred Perry Far Right

Myles Manley – Use Yr Imagination

Search Results – I’m In Your Car

Danny Carroll – Cheesemonger

Trá Pháidín – na Láthaí bándearga

Junior Brother –  Nothing Song


This Ship Argo – This Is Where You’re Meant To Be

Bog Band – Not Another Word

Naoise Roo – Future Ghost

Documenta – Feel Good About Yourself


See Also
Curtisy x Orla Neiland

Hamer Place – Saturday Night’s Alright (For Reading)

Stephen Star – Garden

K I T C H E N – Fistful Of Cheese Strings

So Cow – Now That I’m 39

Fonda – Somewhere

Mantua – Stay Away From My Window

A History Of Failures

A Litany Of Failures began with the release of Volume 1 in 2016. This EP, released on cassette, featured Junk Drawer, Oh Boland, Shrug Life and That Snaake, and was launched with an Irish tour that summer. This release created the template that would later be expanded upon in Volume II III, which featured 18 & 22 acts respectively. Both volumes were released on double vinyl and would sell out online, featuring the likes of Robocobra QuartetThe BonkSilverbacksProblem PatternsGrave GoodsExtravisionCherymPost Punk Podge, and many more.

The project was conceived as a way that DIY and independent artists could come together, collaborate and support each other in trying to take their own snapshot of the Irish music community, to be preserved for posterity – a “rising tide lifts all boats” mentality – while creating a quality product that could be deemed “Export Ready” in the modern Music-Biz™ parlance.

See also:

A Litany Of Failures compilation III announced featuring songs from Silverbacks, Extravision, Junk Drawer, Post Punk Podge & Girl Band’s Dara Kiely

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!